unraid disks and retain data

Status
Not open for further replies.
My parents have a FreeNAS server that was built for them. The system has gone to crap. I cannot boot from USB, if I try to do transfer from it the system crashes, if I do a du - sh (from a shell via the web or SSH) it freezes. I don't have time to try to figure out what is wrong and I am not experienced with FreeNAS.

My hope is I could some how "unraid" the disks in it and retain data on specific disks so I could just unplug the disks and plug them into another computer I have. The other computer only has 2 SATA ports so I cannot move all the disks at one time.

The system has 5 disks:
  • ada0 - 80 GB
  • ada1 - 2 TB
  • ada2 - 2 TB
  • ada3 - 2 TB
  • ada4 - 2 TB
I do not know what the right terms are but I see 4 volumes in the storage tab:

Code:
| Name		  | Used		  | Available | Compression   | Compression Ratio | Status  | Readonly	  | Comments |
|---------------|---------------|-----------|---------------|-------------------|---------|---------------|----------|
| backup		| 3.6 TiB (49%) | 3.7 TiB   | -			 | -				 | HEALTHY |			   |		  |
|	 backup	| 2.6 TiB (51%) | 2.5 TiB   | lz4		   | 1.18x			 | -	   | inherit (off) |		  |
|		 one   | 1.3 TiB (33%) | 2.5 TiB   | inherit (lz4) | 1.18x			 | -	   | inherit (off) |		  |
|		 two   | 1.8 GiB (0%)  | 2.5 TiB   | inherit (lz4) | 1.16x			 | -	   | inherit (off) |		  |
|		 three | 1.3 TiB (35%) | 2.5 TiB   | inherit (lz4) | 1.18x			 | -	   | inherit (off) |		  |
|		 four  | 4.5 GiB (0%)  | 2.5 TiB   | inherit (lz4) | 1.61x			 | -	   | inherit (off) |		  |

If I click on the first backup and check volume status this is what I see:

Code:
backup
	raidz1-0
		ada4p2
		ada3p2
		ada2p2
		ada1p2		

Since one, two, three, four, are all smaller than 2 TB, I thought I could some how "unraid" the disks and put the data in those volumes/folders/??? into different disks.