Unable to mount root after clean install

Status
Not open for further replies.

mjanssen

Cadet
Hi!

I'm quite new to FreeNAS, so bear with me when I ask silly questions. I know a little Linux, but nothing fancy

I did a clean install of FreeNAS 11, installation went well, until the first reboot. When using "Normal Boot" the root fails to mount. When manually selecting "Verbose", all mounts well and everything works.

Strange thing is that it does not always fail in "Normal Boot", but it does work every time in "Verbose".

Looked at several options, and found multiple posts on the forum, but I haven't been able to find the solution.

Tried to change GRUB to use Verbose by default, but wasn't able to find the right files and if I would have been, I wouldn't know what to change. ;-)

** UPDATE ** I forgot to mention FreeNAS is installed on a RAID5 HDD volume. Not SD-Card or USB.

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

If you need more info, please feel free to ask.

Regards,

Martijn

Last edited by a moderator:
D

dlavigne

To assist, we'll need details about your hardware as per the forum rules.

Also, don't install on your storage disks, you do want the OS to reside on a separate boot device.

mjanssen

Cadet
Hi,

I understand the rules, but the fact is that I don't exactly know what kind of hardware it has. It is an old SAN that ran Open-E. It contains an Adaptec 51245 card with 12 x 3Tb Hitatchi HDD's.

Is there a command/tool I can run to show the hardware in FreeNAS ?

FreeNAS is installed on a separate boot volume, but it is HDD.

The intriguing fact is why it does boot and functions normally in verbose mode and not in normal mode.

mjanssen

Cadet
Great, thanks!

Output attached in debug.txt.

Attachments

• debug.txt
    89.7 KB · Views: 522

bw1faeh0

Dabbler
Do you have any other devices (USB-Stick, etc) with an (old) FreeNAS installation that are connected to the PC while booting?