Unable to GPT format the disk "ada0"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danemj3

Dabbler
So I am very new to FreeNAS and have already found an error that I cant seem to figure out myself. I installed FreeNAS on a bootable usb and it boots up just fine. When I go to the webgui and then go to volume manager and try to add a volume I get the error in the title. Also if I try to wipe the disk in FreeNAS I get a "Input/output error 1+0 records in 0+0 records 0 bytes transferred in .4 seconds."

I obviously googled this issue and saw that there were plenty of others going through this same thing. I tried many of their solutions and nothing seemed to work. This included a third part wipe by gparted and then tried again to create volume on FreeNAS, and got the same error. I was hoping there was some data I could post here that would help someone know what was causing these problems and then in turn help me.

I just bought all my parts for this, so everything in brand new. I can post all the components if necessary. Let me know what else I need to post as well. Thank you.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
You sure you wiped the drive more or less thoroughly? Try wiping it completely.

Might as well post your hardware, too.

Danemj3

Dabbler
I have gparted up right now, and I only have one drive attached, which is my 4th drive. I right click it and click format to ntfs. it then completes successfully and says 3.64 unused. I have also deleted everything there and created a fresh partition in gparted too, niether worked.

Hardware:
HD: Seagate Desktop HDD.15 ST4000DM000 4TB 5900 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive
MB: MSI H61M-P31/W8 LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
CPU: Intel Pentium G2030 Ivy Bridge Dual-Core 3.0GHz LGA 1155 55W BX80637G2030 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics
Ram: 1600Mhz Kingston DDR3 4GB

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty