Trying to use mount_smbfs between two TrueNAS devices, does not work.

manusamoa

Dabbler
I have 2 TrueNAS servers running 13.0-U1.1 I am trying to mount a directory from one to another. I used smbclient on the one with the directory and go the following:
smbclient -L spixey -U-"root"
Passord for [WORKGROUP\root]:

Sharename Type Comment
------------- ------- ---------------
IPC$ IPC IPC Service (TrueNAS Server)
Spixey Disk
SMB1 disabled -- no workgroup available

and when I try to mount on the newer on with:

mount_smbfs -I 192.168.3.14 //root@192.168.3.14/mnt/Spixey /mnt/Spixey
Password: <enter password>
mount_smbfs: unable to open connection: syserr = RPC struct is bad

I am fairly new to Linux, so not sure what I am doing wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

danb35

Hall of Famer
I am fairly new to Linux, so not sure what I am doing wrong.
First, mistaking TrueNAS for Linux; CORE is based on FreeBSD, not Linux. Second, trying to use your NAS as a client for a file server--it really isn't designed to do that. But if you for some reason need to, it'd be much better and easier to share the directory in question via NFS and mount it that way.

manusamoa

Dabbler
First, mistaking TrueNAS for Linux; CORE is based on FreeBSD, not Linux. Second, trying to use your NAS as a client for a file server--it really isn't designed to do that. But if you for some reason need to, it'd be much better and easier to share the directory in question via NFS and mount it that way.
Thank You danb35, I do have the directory shared using NFS and can access them from my PC fine. What I am trying to do is transfer TB of information from one NAS server to the other without using my Windows box. Just getting it transferred one way so I could reconfigure my older NAS took almost a week. I do not want to wait that long again unless I have to. I thought using mount_smbfs would be faster.

danb35

Hall of Famer
I thought using mount_smbfs would be faster.