SOLVED Trying to make a Samba share to the Syncthing folder

NumberSix

Contributor
Hi
I have successfully set up the Syncthing plugin and verified that everything works as it should. Then I set up a Samba share to windows 10, which when I try to open it, says Windows cannot access it. I have a couple of other Samba shares to other datasets that work fine, I just can't access this one.

The user and group is called Sync. As no one but me uses this system I set up an ACL which uses Basic permissions, Full Control, Inhereted to owner@, group@ and everyone@ And the whole thing is recursive. Yet nothing works. I have a funny feeling that this Samba share DID work at one point, but no longer, for reasons unknown.

I am quite desperate for help to fix this. I came new to TrueNAS a few months ago and have invested many hundreds of hours trying to learn how to use it. It's so fiendishly complicated that it often feels like one step forward, four or five back. Sometimes I think about packing it in and buying a Synology. Life is too short to spend days (and days and days and days) trying to do something that should be as simple as accessing my Syncthing folder.

Can anyone tell me how to fix this please? No pithy comments please, just a 'how to' to gain acess to the Samba share from anyone kind enough to share their insight; I'd be so grateful at this point.

Thank you..

NumberSix

Contributor
What is output of testparm -s?

Hi Anodos!
Thank you for your interest in my problem. Here is the result of the first command you asked for:

Code:
root@truenas[~]# testparm -s
Load smb config files from /usr/local/etc/smb4.conf
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE

# Global parameters
[global]
        aio max threads = 2
        bind interfaces only = Yes
        disable spoolss = Yes
        dns proxy = No
        enable web service discovery = Yes
        kernel change notify = No
        load printers = No
        logging = file
        max log size = 5120