TrueNAS to TrueNAS RSYNC w/module hangs at "Starting Job"

HeloJunkie

Patron
Joined
Oct 15, 2014
Messages
300
I am running two Core systems (TrueNAS-12.0-U8.1) and was running a rsync job off a third (media) server to rsync between the two Core systems. I recently got rid of that server and built an RSYNC job on Server1 (nas01) to rsync files to Server2 (nas02) utilizing a module and not SSH.

When I start the job, I only get "Starting Job" in the window and nothing gets transferred. I can see the connection between the systems via netstat

root@nas01:/var/log # netstat -an | grep 873
tcp4 0 4194580 10.200.55.2.16909 10.200.55.5.873 ESTABLISHED
(Sending)

root@nas02[~]# netstat -an | grep 873
tcp4 0 0 10.200.55.5.873 10.200.55.2.16909 ESTABLISHED
tcp4 0 0 *.873 *.* LISTEN
tcp6 0 0 *.873 *.* LISTEN
(Receiving)

I have left it in this state for hours with no change so I am looking for some pointers as to what may be the issue or what to check further.

Thanks

Here is the source job created on nas01:
Screenshot 2023-10-26 at 9.34.20 PM.png



Here is the Module created on nas02:
Screenshot 2023-10-26 at 9.32.58 PM.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
3,641
It will help to share the configuration of Services -> Rsync -> Modules used on nas02

And the Rsync Task configured on nas01
 

HeloJunkie

Patron
Joined
Oct 15, 2014
Messages
300
It will help to share the configuration of Services -> Rsync -> Modules used on nas02

And the Rsync Task configured on nas01
Great idea! I added them. Thank You
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
3,641
Under "Remote Host" for the Rsync Task, try with the IP address of the nas02 system.

You should also use the auxiliary parameters --inplace and --no-whole-file because the destination is a ZFS filesystem.


If that doesn't work, you can troubleshoot by either looking at the log file, or attempting to run the command manually in the terminal, from nas01.

As the root user. First a dry run:
Code:
rsync -n -vv -a -X -z --inplace --no-whole-file --delete-delay /mnt/vol1/media/Movies/ 10.200.55.2::plex_media_movies


As the root user. If everything looks good, and you don't see any errors, you can try to run it for real (by removing the -n flag):
Code:
rsync -vv -a -X -z --inplace --no-whole-file --delete-delay /mnt/vol1/media/Movies/ 10.200.55.2::plex_media_movies


The trailing slash after "Movies/" is important. It's not a typo, nor is it aesthetic. The double colons before the module name are also intentional.
 
Last edited:

HeloJunkie

Patron
Joined
Oct 15, 2014
Messages
300
Thank you for this info, the command line works, but the GUI does not; just sits and hanges at 'Starting Job', kind of frustrating, but I can just run it as a cron job from the shell.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
3,641
hank you for this info, the command line works, but the GUI does not
Even when you try with the IP address instead of the hostname?

Does the log reveal anything?
 

HeloJunkie

Patron
Joined
Oct 15, 2014
Messages
300
Even when you try with the IP address instead of the hostname?

Does the log reveal anything?
I did try with the IP address, the logs are sparse, just shows that it connected and nothing else. It's weird, the command line I am running is working away just fine. Maybe I need to update to the latest version?
 
Top