Truenas scale ssd plus hdd configuration

Victor87

Dabbler
Hello all

I will start with info that I'm a beginner with truenas platform and I trying all my best to understand this ecosystem. :)

I will build my first server from an old HP Z220cmt with i7 quad core processor, 16gb ram(for beginning), nvidia quadro k2000.

For a moment I have available one ssd 125gb for OS, one ssd 1tb WD red (for nas dedicated), one 4tb hdd WD gold and one more 2tb seagate hdd.
I know that is better to use same models and same capacity hdd, but on this moment this what I have .

My question is how can I create the pools to have best performance.
Server will be used for Plex streaming most of the time and to backup data like personal photos and video's.

I was thinking to create one single pool vdev from ssd (1tb) plus 2tb hdd for plex movies and the 4 TB hdd another vdev personal data. I know that will be no backup in case of one hdd fail but in the future will come more hdd and maybe I will have enough space for backups.

Thanks for helping and please don't throw with something on me because I'm a completely beginner :D

Arwen

MVP
I suggest reading up on ZFS. You mention using the 4TB HDD in another vDev for personal data. ZFS does not quite work like that. ZFS pools are made up of vDevs, and you can't, (generally speaking), select which vDev data is written to. So, your goal seems to be 2 ZFS pools, one made up of 1TB SSD & 2TB HDD, then a second pool using the 4TB HDD.

With that configuration of 1TB, 2TB & 4TB disks, you can't really make any redundancy in any pools. Most of us TrueNAS users want our NAS to survive disk loss, and also tend to be conservative in our disk configuration. (And in other hardware.)

Without any redundancy, any active disk block failure will result in data loss. And complete disk loss will result in total pool failure and all it's data. Now if you have backups, and accept that you may / will have to do restores on on failures, okay.