TrueNAS scale SMB basics help

ShadowK99

Cadet
Hi All

I'm new to TrueNAS Scale and need help getting started. lets start from the beginning. I have a Dell Optiplex 7040 i5-6500 12GB RAM, 256GiB SanDisk_X400_M.2 and 2 x 500 GiB Seagate ST500LM021

My objective is simple I want to use TrueNAS scale as a file share for home, I have 4 users including myself. Using a mix of Windows 10 Pro, Windows 11 Pro and Ubuntu 20.04 PCs . I read the instructions https://www.truenas.com/docs/scale/ and looked for info on this forum and other locations but still cant get SMB working correctly.

Here is what i have done so far.
1. Installed TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02-RC.2 default install on 256GiB M.2 drive
2. Logged in and went to Storage and created a mirrored pool called storage with both 500GiB drives ACL Mode POSIX
3. Added Data set to storage called data (share type SMB)
4. Created local group called home_users (Samba Auth enabled) I plan on adding other family members to the group
5. Created a local user called martin (Auxiliary Group home_users, /nonexistent, Shell Bash, Samba Auth on)
6. Added SMB share called data /mnt/storage/data
7. In Storage for Dataset:/mnt/storage/data edit ACL added User martin and groups martin and home_users all with full Control
8. rebooted for good measure.

OK here is where I start getting lost my assumption is i should be able to access the share from my Windows PC at this point. when i go to \\truenas\storage\data from my main Windows 11 PC i do get prompted for user and password as expected but it fails with Network Error Windows Cannot access \\truenas\storage\data, I also tried \\truenas.local\storage\data, \\192.168.2.98\storage\data and \\192.168.2.98.local\storage\data same result

I tested the same with Windows 10 PC and with my Ubuntu desktop via smb://truenas/storage/data i get prompted for credentials and same result. so I went to system settings - shell and checked

root@truenas[~]# ls /mnt
storage
root@truenas[~]# ls /mnt/storage
data