SOLVED TrueNAS-SCALE-21.02-ALPHA.1 - Apps take hour to deploy

maximelu

Explorer
Hello,
I am new to TRUENAS Scale but have good experience with TrueNAS Core and K8s in my professional life.

However I am not sure I understand some of the mechanics of the Apps in TRUENAS Scale.
If I deploy an application for the first time, it takes a while but it works. However if I have to restart the machine or adjust parameters I have to stop and restart the applications.
In this case, the system then makes dozens or even hundreds of snapshots and clones of DATASET to redeploy and it takes more than 4-8 hours. Finally I have unset the pool in order to be able to destroy -r on the DATASET Docker.

Although I use K8s in my professional life I cannot make the parallel between this deployment mechanic and classical mechanics. I suppose the system makes a snapshot + clone for each docker layer.
Also, I would like to know how to make the operations simpler:
- Did I miss a parameter?
- Can we deactivate the snapshot / clone operations of the binaries which seem useless to me?

Thanks for everything in advance :)

ornias

Wizard
I am new to TRUENAS Scale but have good experience with TrueNAS Core and K8s in my professional life.
Be aware the k8s support is still pretty much WIP, so don't expect it to be the same stability as both of the options from your professional life ;-)

If I deploy an application for the first time, it takes a while but it works. However if I have to restart the machine or adjust parameters I have to stop and restart the applications.
Having to stop and restart after editing the App settings is something thats definately a bug you should report...
I've had it myself and it shouldn't happen. Didn't have the time to make a good bugreport with debug log though.

Having to manually restart apps after a reboot is not something I experienced (though i don't use official Apps, just TrueCharts), but is also worth a bug report.