TrueNas mount points question on VM

Agent86

Cadet
Hi,
This may not be a direct TrueNas question and may really be about VM.

I am new to TrueNas and never knew it has so many various features. :grin:

I'm looking at purchasing a TrueNas Mini and wanted to experiment with the software some to see how it works.
I may not have great equipment for testing but this is what I have.

Dell Poweredge T410 with Dual Xeon E5520 quad core and 32GB ram. 3) 3tb drives setup as raid 5 "hardware raid"
I downloaded and installed into a VM. and using virt-manager.
Install and network bridge setup flawlessly and I'm at the web/browser interface.

I read through the documents to setup a pool and subsequent "Windows Share(SMB).

"Disk" shows the VM physical disk volume created but the "pool" does not.
Is this due to VM or would I expect to do something else even for a TrueNas direct install ?

Please advise thanks.

P.S
I assume this web interface is the same for the TrueNas purchased products ?
thanks

Agent86

Cadet
Oops forgot to ad image
Screenshot (37).png
Screenshot (38).png

Agent86

Cadet
Waiting for moderator to approve those pics, but from reading a lot it looks like TrueNas does not like my H700 Perc Hardware raid controller from what I can tell.

I don't know if this is why I can't see any available drive to create the pool, but it would seem this might also be the case for a direct install and not on VM.

At least from what I can tell.

I may have to try this on a PC to see how things work or just buy a "Mini" and see how it works from there.

Just wanted to experiment a little with shares and maybe Plex to see how things work.

Anyhow, I look forward to any response and will start window shopping a bit.
Thanks

Agent86

Cadet
Sooo..... After some more research about HBA's It seems the Poweredge T410 could do it if I used the H220 HBA controller that is built on then that might work.
Back to the drawingboard.