Transfers from Freenas server slow down after a few seconds, can't figure out why

Nephalem

Cadet
Hi Everyone,

First post here. I've been playing with my new Freenas server for a while, tweaking it, and so far, performance is terrific (I kinda overkilled it for my needs but that doesn't matter). I have started encountering a VERY annoying problem which I can't solve after a LOT of troubleshooting. I work in IT for a living, and most of my work consists of solving problems, so this is seriously annoying me.

I'll be very transparent from the beginning, I am most certain the issue is not with the Freenas box. I'll explain why later, but first, I'll just post specs about my PC so you get context:

Intel i7 6700K CPU
16 GB of RAM
Asus Z170-A Mobo
Integrated Intel i219-V NIC, but also recently bought a standalone intel i210-T1 NIC because I thought the issue might be there.
Local drives are: 1 x Samsung 950 PRO SSD (NVMe) and 1 x OCZ Vertex 3 SSD

SO, here's the issue... When I copy a large file from the NAS, the transfer rate starts around 115 MB/s, which is very close to the theoretical max of a Gigabit NIC. Then after maybe 5-6 seconds, it all goes to hell... Basically to around 40-50 MB/s.

So first assumption would be, bah, the buffer is filled, then you're throttled by the disk write speed, but if you know anything about the Samsung 950 PRO, you know it's not the issue. I get 952 MB/s sequential write and 2129 MB/s sequential read, with 80k iops write and 265k iops read. There is absolutely no bottleneck there. I get the exact same speeds with the Vertex 3 also, which is capable of writing faster than 100 MB/s for sure. So that's out of the way...

Now, I got plenty of CPU, I got more than enough RAM, and disks are way faster than what the gigabit ethernet can serve me... Now the interesting part is twofold: