BUILD Tiny 6 HDD build sanity check.

Status
Not open for further replies.

netheranthem

Cadet
Hello! It's my first time building a NAS, and as I have 6x1TB drives scattered around, I thought I should start putting my data in a redundant configuration, in order to avoid downloading my offsite backups if anything should happen.

My criteria for this build are:

- Supports 6 drives.
- Relatively cheap (under $800) with parts accessible in Switzerland
- Some headroom for upgrades, so I can add RAM and a SAS controller later, with a bigger case.
- AES support.
- Silent enough to be left in the living room.

The parts I selected, according to the guides on the forum, are:

- Mobo/CPU: Supermicro A1SAi-2550F
- Memory: 2x Kingston SO-DDR3L 8GB 1600MHz ECC
- PSU: Seasonic G-360
- UPS: Eaton USV Ellipse ECO 650 USB IEC
- Case: BitFenix Phenom Mini-ITX schwarz
- Fans: 2x120mm intake (supplied) + 1x140mm exhaust Noctua NF-A14 ULN
- Misc: Molex to 2xSATA power adapter, Kingston DataTraveler Micro 8GB

Total: About $800, bought in Switzerland - which doesn't seem to far from what you guys pay in the US.

That's it! I'm hoping that I didn't miss anything... which is why I'd be grateful if you could confirm that this build is okay :) I'm also not 100% sure about how quiet this build would be, if you do have some suggestions for some adequate quiet 120mm fans for the HDDs I might replace those that come standard with the case if they don't perform well.

Fuganater

Patron
Get different RAM. Kingston is not recommended and there are a few threads out there why not to use it.

What will you use for a boot device? I suggest getting 2x 16GB Scandisk fits which are pretty cheap and reliable.

PSU seems a bit small to me but I've never built a system this small before. Just read the PSU sizing sticky and if it what you need, great.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Looks good for your planed use of 6 - 1TB drives.
If in the future you should need more space