Temperature Monitoring - FreeNAS 9.10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thousandbuckle

Contributor
Hello all, I have read through the forums about this topic and found some script information related to FreeNAS 8 but wanted to get a new thread going for Temperature Monitoring for FreeNAS 9. I am new to FreeBSD so I am not sure what the right commands are to call on the monitoring of temps inside the box. I am hoping that this thread will make it easy for others like me as well to understand what to do.

Request: Provide a script that will call and monitor CPU and Hard Drive temp that will notify via email address if the temperatures exceeds a set threshold.

Many thanks for any help you can provide.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant

Thousandbuckle

Contributor
Hi depasseg, thanks for the quick reply and the link. You are right it seems this is already answered so I apologize for not finding it during my search.

I have followed the GitHub instructions but have one question. What permissions do I have to set to make this work. I created the cron job with user root but I am getting permission denied errror when running the job. Not sure if the permission issue is on the share or other. What permissions should I set?

May 13 11:04:42 FreeNAS cronjob: /mnt/Pool1/Scripts/TempGraphing/rrd.sh: Permission denied

Last edited:

danb35

Hall of Famer
Request: Provide a script that will call and monitor CPU and Hard Drive temp that will notify via email address if the temperatures exceeds a set threshold.
For hard drives, that's already part of the base install. Turn on the SMART service, configure it with an email address, and give it a temp threshold. It will email you if any drive exceeds that temp (or if any SMART errors appear). It doesn't graph the temps though. For CPU, why? If you've designed your system properly with appropriate parts, there shouldn't be any issue there.

Thousandbuckle

Contributor