Syslog Server Setup?

Visseroth

Guru
Anyone have any suggestions on getting a syslog server setup and running.
I'd like to collect logs from my firewall (PfSense w/Snort), FreeNAS, accociated jails and Ubiquti AP.

I've tried this thread...
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/how-to-install-a-syslog-server-jail.30357/
but some of the packages are obsolete so I tried using updated packages using the same install instructions but hit a block and posted it on that thread on the last page...
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/how-to-install-a-syslog-server-jail.30357/page-3

I was thinking of pulling a syslog server via docker though I've never done that before.

Any help and/or suggestions appreciated.

Whatever your favorite flavor of open source Unix would be your best bet. That assume you are a Unix person. There are also syslog servers you can get for Windows as well if that is your preference. Most unix varieties will default to have syslog only listen on the loopback interface, so it is only available to the local machine. It would have to listen on one of its actual network interfaces to do that. FreeBSD is my preference, and I do that with my FreeBSD host. Here is what the default looks like in "/etc/defaults/rc.conf".
Code:
syslogd_flags="-s"              # Flags to syslogd (if enabled).

I have this in my "/etc/rc.conf" to make it listen to its network interfaces.
Code:
syslogd_flags=""

That is about all there is to it other than making sure all the host that you want to send log entries can reach the log host.

Edit: I did forget to mention that FreeBSD runs syslogd by default as noted by this entry from "/etc/defaults/rc.conf"
Code:
syslogd_enable="YES"            # Run syslog daemon (or NO).

Visseroth

Guru
I don't really like Windowz and don't really want to get into why.