Syncthing on TrueNAS Scale 21.08 Beta

TrueNASnoob

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I'm wondering whether anyone has had any success in getting SyncThing up and running on TrueNAS Scale 21.08 Beta?

I am new to TrueNAS but built a system and installed Scale 21.08 Beta as the OS. I am loving it so far! I would like to add SyncThing as an add-on but I see it isn't available in the list of apps. Has anyone else had any success in getting it installed? If so, would you mind please sharing with me how to do it?

My goal is to sync a dataset with a folder on an Android phone. It should be simple but would help me out immensely to have this automated.

I have searched online but can't seem to find anything recent. There was one post of a command line install from a 2020 version of Scale but at that time the GUI hadn't been coded yet for scale like it is now. Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks!

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
it isn't available in the list of apps
Are you sure?

1631106561538.png

TrueNASnoob

Cadet
Thanks for your reply. I did actually notice the Truecharts plugin but I gather this isn't the official version of syncthing for Truenas and worry about threat vectors when installing from third parties. If I understand correctly, which I may not, truecharts seems to be like flatpak is to Debian.

That said, I am new to all of this so it you're confident that truechart is safe and reputable, I'll explore it next.

Thanks again!

c77dk

Patron
truecharts is made by "old" people from the forums - so personally I'm not nervous about using it. Just got my own syncthing migrated from CORE jail to truecharts and it just works (after a little tinkering, but that's just because I wanted it setup in a special way)

TrueNASnoob

Cadet