Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Supported SAS Firmwares

Status
Not open for further replies.

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
Hello,

Anybody knew which last supported SAS 2.5" hdd Firmware's (from different disk producers, Seagate, Toshiba Hitachi).
I tried with lot of different sas hdd's and only god working are with FW older then 2013 year. Nothing newer, at least from IBM/Lenovo sas HDD's, is working properly.

I'm little bit disappointed about complete project and probably i\ll give-up from this solution (using excellent server IBM x3650M4 with M1015IT ctrl and 6 x 900GB/6Gb sas/10K hdd).

mario
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
13,034
I've only rarely heard of any issue using a particular SAS firmware revision with FreeNAS, and certainly nothing that cuts across manufacturers and models. Perhaps you have faulty hardware?
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
HW is tested more times and working fine. i have only issues with hdd newer then 2013. year. All older hdd's working fine!!!
mario
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
13,034
My guess is that you've got some other problem, since it works for everyone else.
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
no, dear friend, i did not heard that anyone have configuration like this, new ibm server x3650m4, new ibm sas disks, etc ...., that is mean my problem is freenas
mario
 

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,862
Have you tested the newer drives in a different machine or with a different OS on the same machine? Were the drives purchased new, or did they come used from another system? Have you used them with a HW RAID controller previously? What is the exact error or issue? Do they show up in BIOS? what is the output of camcontrol devlist.
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
Of course, that was first thing to do. All other OS (VMware, windows, Oracle linux) recognized all disks w/o any problem and works fine. All parts are purchased from IBM.
With freenas i can see all disks (including serial num, i can work different SMART tests w/o any problem. In moment when i try to write anything on disks (i can create partitions with fdisk with some errors but partition table is written on hdd) like create zpool i have only errors which i couldn't find in google.

mario
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
error is:
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): READ(10). CDB: 28 00 68 cb 8c 00 00 01
00 00
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): CAM status: SCSI Status Error
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): SCSI status: Check Condition
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): SCSI sense: ILLEGAL REQUEST asc:20,0 (
Invalid command operation code)
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): Error 22, Unretryable error
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): READ(10). CDB: 28 00 68 cb 8e 00 00 01
00 00
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): CAM status: SCSI Status Error
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): SCSI status: Check Condition
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): SCSI sense: ILLEGAL REQUEST asc:20,0 (
Invalid command operation code)
Feb 1 00:32:21 freenas (da2:mps0:0:3:0): Error 22, Unretryable error
 

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,862
Any chance that has a SAS3 backplane?
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
13,034
Please do "camcontrol identify da2" and post the output here in CODE tags. That's making me think there's something unusual about the disk, but I don't have the time to dig up all the tech docs right now to try to reverse engineer the error.
 

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
2,862

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
[root@freenas] ~# camcontrol devlist
<LENOVO-X ST900MM0006 L56Q> at scbus1 target 1 lun 0 (pass0,da0)
<IBM-ESXS AL13SEB900 SB35> at scbus1 target 2 lun 0 (pass1,da1)
<IBM-ESXS HUC109090CSS60 J2EH> at scbus1 target 3 lun 0 (pass2,da2)
<LENOVO-X ST900MM0006 L56Q> at scbus1 target 4 lun 0 (pass3,da3)
<LENOVO-X ST900MM0006 L56Q> at scbus1 target 10 lun 0 (pass4,da4)
<LENOVO-X ST900MM0006 L56Q> at scbus1 target 11 lun 0 (pass5,da5)
<Kingston DataTraveler 3.0 PMAP> at scbus3 target 0 lun 0 (pass6,da6)

[root@freenas] ~# camcontrol identify da0
camcontrol: ATA ATAPI_IDENTIFY via pass_16 failed
[root@freenas] ~# camcontrol identify da1
camcontrol: ATA ATAPI_IDENTIFY via pass_16 failed
[root@freenas] ~# camcontrol identify da2
camcontrol: ATA ATAPI_IDENTIFY via pass_16 failed
[root@freenas] ~# camcontrol identify da3
camcontrol: ATA ATAPI_IDENTIFY via pass_16 failed
[root@freenas] ~# camcontrol identify da4
camcontrol: ATA ATAPI_IDENTIFY via pass_16 failed
[root@freenas] ~# camcontrol identify da5

gpart show
=> 34 1758174701 da2 GPT (838G) [CORRUPT]
34 4062 - free - (2M)
4096 4194304 1 freebsd-swap (2.0G)
4198400 1753972736 2 freebsd-zfs (836G)
1758171136 3599 - free - (1.8M)

=> 34 1758174701 da4 GPT (838G) [CORRUPT]
34 4062 - free - (2M)
4096 4194304 1 freebsd-swap (2.0G)
4198400 1753972736 2 freebsd-zfs (836G)
1758171136 3599 - free - (1.8M)

=> 34 1758174701 da5 GPT (838G) [CORRUPT]
34 4062 - free - (2M)
4096 4194304 1 freebsd-swap (2.0G)
4198400 1753972736 2 freebsd-zfs (836G)
1758171136 3599 - free - (1.8M)

=> 34 30277565 da6 GPT (14G)
34 8190 - free - (4M)
8224 1024 1 bios-boot (512k)
9248 30268344 2 freebsd-zfs (14G)
30277592 7 - free - (3.5k)

=> 34 1758174701 da0 GPT (838G)
34 1758174701 - free - (838G)

=> 34 1758174701 da1 GPT (838G)
34 1758174701 - free - (838G)

=> 34 1758174701 da3 GPT (838G)
34 1758174701 - free - (838G)

zpool create test da0
cannot create 'test': no such pool or dataset
[root@freenas] ~# zpool create test /dev/da
da0% da1% da2% da2p1% da2p2% da3% da4% da4p1% da4p2% da5% da5p1% da5p2% da6% da6p1% da6p2%
[root@freenas] ~# zpool create test /dev/da5p2
cannot create 'test': one or more devices is currently unavailable
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
disks are sas2 (6Gb/s), serverRAID M1015IT is 6Gb/s also
back-plane is same for all sas standards!
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
13,034
Something's way off, and it's most likely either the HBA or the backplane you're using. None of that should have been challenging to the system.

Can you type "sas2flash -listall" and report the results?
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
only one remark: i tried with 3.5" sas 600Gb (of course vendor is IBM, produced 2012.) and worked fine w/o any problem.

this is after my playing with versions, before was p20 with same results

sas2flash -listall
LSI Corporation SAS2 Flash Utility
Version 16.00.00.00 (2013.03.01)
Copyright (c) 2008-2013 LSI Corporation. All rights reserved

Adapter Selected is a LSI SAS: SAS2008(B2)

Num Ctlr FW Ver NVDATA x86-BIOS PCI Addr
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 SAS2008(B2) 17.00.01.00 11.00.00.07 No Image 00:20:00:00

Finished Processing Commands Successfully.
Exiting SAS2Flash.
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
i tried couple m1015 ctrls and in different servers with same results. old sas drives working ok, all new, include nlsas (1TB) no go.
 

MarioDespot

Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
25
and one more, when i use non cross flashed raid ctrl and use same drives as JBOD there is no problems, working fine
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
13,034
You have the wrong firmware on the card. If you're running FreeNAS 9.2, it should be P16, and if you're running 9.3, it should be P20 (be sure it's 20.00.04.00).

You should definitely flash it to the correct firmware. We know that 17 will work with SATA drives, and generally the LSI stuff doesn't just totally crap out on a driver/firmware mismatch, so I think there's still something else amiss, but it's probably best to fix one issue at a time.
 

Montel Bahn

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
40
My first attempted use, trying to make a zfs pool was a complete failure, more than a year ago;
My disks had previously been in a different nvidia raid array, so were basically unformated, but I hit a perplexing,
undocumented wall. I ended up having to do some sort raid destroy command first, i think with gpart.
Good luck.
 

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
13,034
This appears to be some actual communications problem, not just a partitioning or formatting issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top