Super slow SMB speeds on TrueNAS Mini X+, Core 12

630fireman

Cadet
So we recently purchased a high spec TrueNAS Mini X+, the version with 64GB RAM and the integral twin 10Gbps ports, running 4x Seagate Exos 16TB in RAIDZ2, running latest TrueNAS Core 12. Unfortunately, we've never been able to get this thing to really run properly on the network locally or over OpenVPN. The OpenVPN connection works great, and I'm getting the similar pathetic speeds I'm seeing locally. I've done some of this testing over the VPN too, but overall, the speeds are similar enough to local connections that I feel that I can say that service is set up properly, but I also did some testing locally with the OpenVPN services shut completely off.

iperf2 results over VPN (I'm no pro with it, so there are probably better parameters to have used)

[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth [ 8] 0.0-30.1 sec 6.38 MBytes 1.78 Mbits/sec [ 6] 0.0-30.2 sec 8.38 MBytes 2.33 Mbits/sec [ 11] 0.0-30.2 sec 14.6 MBytes 4.06 Mbits/sec [ 4] 0.0-30.3 sec 7.88 MBytes 2.18 Mbits/sec [ 3] 0.0-30.3 sec 6.00 MBytes 1.66 Mbits/sec [ 5] 0.0-30.3 sec 7.50 MBytes 2.08 Mbits/sec [ 9] 0.0-30.3 sec 7.75 MBytes 2.14 Mbits/sec [ 10] 0.0-30.4 sec 7.00 MBytes 1.93 Mbits/sec [ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth [ 10] 0.0-10.1 sec 4.25 MBytes 3.54 Mbits/sec [ 3] 0.0-10.1 sec 2.88 MBytes 2.39 Mbits/sec [ 8] 0.0-10.1 sec 3.12 MBytes 2.59 Mbits/sec [ 7] 0.0-10.2 sec 4.50 MBytes 3.70 Mbits/sec [ 4] 0.0-10.2 sec 3.62 MBytes 2.98 Mbits/sec [ 6] 0.0-10.3 sec 2.25 MBytes 1.83 Mbits/sec [ 11] 0.0-10.4 sec 3.75 MBytes 3.03 Mbits/sec [ 5] 0.0-10.5 sec 2.88 MBytes 2.31 Mbits/sec