sub dataset isn't separated from the father dataset on the client

mosh

Explorer
Joined
Mar 23, 2017
Messages
54
Hi,
Recently i created a new dataset on an existing dataset on my FreeNAS server.
I did it in order to be able to take snapshots of a single directory, instead of the whole thing.

Original dataset: /nfs/dataset1
I've created in FreeNAS GUI: /nfs/dataset1/dataset2
afterwards i could see that a new directory named 'dataset2' was created at the root of dataset1.
I copied data into it. however i do not see the data is filling the new dataset (dataset2). it is still part of the top dataset (dataset1).

It looks, from the clientside that the new dataset2 isn't really pointing to the new dataset, instead to a normal directory (with the same name as dataset2) on dataset1.

from a client:
$ du -hc /mnt/dataset1/dataset2
104G


On the freeNAS Server:
$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Capacity Mounted on
nfs/dataset1 48T 25T 23T 51% /mnt/dataset1
nfs/dataset1/dataset2 23T 201K 23T 0% /mnt/dataset1/dataset2


Any idea how can i overcome this scenario?

- Moshe
 

pro lamer

Guru
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
626
Can you post zfs mount results (run at server)

edit: and mount results run at client.

Sent from my phone
 

mosh

Explorer
Joined
Mar 23, 2017
Messages
54
Server zfs mount
Code:
root@strg:~ # zfs mount
freenas-boot/ROOT/11.1-U6.3     /
freenas-boot/grub               /boot/grub
nfs/.system/syslog-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53  /var/db/system/syslog-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53
nfs/.system/rrd-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53  /var/db/system/rrd-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53
nfs/.system/configs-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53  /var/db/system/configs-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53
nfs/.system                     /var/db/system
nfs/.system/cores               /var/db/system/cores
nfs/.system/samba4              /var/db/system/samba4
nfs                             /mnt/nfs
nfs/jails                       /mnt/nfs/jails
nfs/dataset1                        /mnt/nfs/dataset1
nfs/dataset1/dataset2                    /mnt/nfs/dataset1/dataset2


Client mount:
Code:
root@clientsrv:/mnt/shared# mount | grep share
strg:/mnt/nfs/pma on /mnt/share type nfs (rw,nfsvers=3,retrans=5,lookupcache=positive,addr=172.16.22.111)


zfs list
Code:
root@strg-shared:~ # zfs list
NAME                                                   USED  AVAIL  REFER  MOUNTPOINT
freenas-boot                                          1.67G   106G    64K  none
freenas-boot/ROOT                                     1.66G   106G    29K  none
freenas-boot/ROOT/11.1-U6.3                           1.64G   106G   807M  /
freenas-boot/ROOT/Initial-Install                     2.04M   106G   836M  /
freenas-boot/ROOT/U4                                     1K   106G   846M  legacy
freenas-boot/ROOT/default                             19.3M   106G   855M  legacy
freenas-boot/grub                                     6.84M   106G  6.84M  legacy
nfs                                                   25.3T  22.7T   201K  /mnt/nfs
nfs/.system                                            520M  22.7T   450M  legacy
nfs/.system/configs-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53  66.7M  22.7T  66.7M  legacy
nfs/.system/cores                                      832K  22.7T   832K  legacy
nfs/.system/rrd-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53       201K  22.7T   201K  legacy
nfs/.system/samba4                                     311K  22.7T   311K  legacy
nfs/.system/syslog-b3147af497d748f98f845f65b942be53   1.37M  22.7T  1.37M  legacy
nfs/jails                                              201K  22.7T   201K  /mnt/nfs/jails
nfs/dataset1                                               25.3T  22.7T  25.3T  /mnt/nfs/dataset1
nfs/dataset1/dataset2                                           329K  22.7T   201K  /mnt/nfs/dataset1/dataset2



- Moshe
 
Last edited:

pro lamer

Guru
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
626
I can't understand why I can't see dataset1 nor dataset2 in the output you posted...

Btw1 please put output within CODE tags

Btw2 maybe post results of zfs list, run at server...

Sent from my phone
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,421
This is totally normal and correct. You have to share each dataset individually.
 

mosh

Explorer
Joined
Mar 23, 2017
Messages
54
I've
I can't understand why I can't see dataset1 nor dataset2 in the output you posted...

Btw1 please put output within CODE tags

Btw2 maybe post results of zfs list, run at server...

Sent from my phone

I've updated the output reply with the data you requested.

Thanks!
 

mosh

Explorer
Joined
Mar 23, 2017
Messages
54
This is totally normal and correct. You have to share each dataset individually.

So what is the point of allowing me to create a sub dataset?
If you can you point me to ZFS reference as well, that would me great!

zfs list
Code:
root@strg-shared:~ # zfs list
NAME                                                   USED  AVAIL  REFER  MOUNTPOINT
nfs                                                   25.3T  22.7T   201K  /mnt/nfs
nfs/jails                                              201K  22.7T   201K  /mnt/nfs/jails
nfs/dataset1                                               25.3T  22.7T  25.3T  /mnt/nfs/dataset1
nfs/dataset1/dataset2                                           329K  22.7T   201K  /mnt/nfs/dataset1/dataset2



- Moshe
 
Top