Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience

State: UNAVAIL when running zpool import

Western Digital Drives - The Preferred Drives of FreeNAS and TrueNAS CORE
Status
Not open for further replies.

kabux01

Cadet
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
7
I've been using my FreeNAS as a simple NAS and it just stopped working today. Initial error I received was The volume (name) state is UNKNOWN. I had my drives set up in RAID 10. It looks like one or both of the drives failed from one of them mirrors. I can't get FreeNAS to recognize them. I tried installing 2 more drives I've had to let the RAID rebuild but I'm still getting the same error. Any help is appreciated.

zpool import
Code:
# zpool import
   pool: ShawNAS
	 id: 9292854171455997109
  state: UNAVAIL
 status: One or more devices are missing from the system.
 action: The pool cannot be imported. Attach the missing
		devices and try again.
   see: http://illumos.org/msg/ZFS-8000-6X
 config:

		ShawNAS										 UNAVAIL  missing device
		  mirror-1									  ONLINE
			gptid/e298bcba-6a30-11e5-ab72-d05099592946  ONLINE
			gptid/e319310f-6a30-11e5-ab72-d05099592946  ONLINE

		Additional devices are known to be part of this pool, though their
		exact configuration cannot be determined.


gpart show
Code:
# gpart show
=>		63  4294967232  ada0  MBR  (2.7T)
		  63  4294967232		- free -  (2.0T)

=>		63  4294967232  ada1  MBR  (2.7T)
		  63  4294967232		- free -  (2.0T)

=>		34  5860533101  ada2  GPT  (2.7T)
		  34		  94		- free -  (47K)
		 128	 4194304	 1  freebsd-swap  (2.0G)
	 4194432  5856338696	 2  freebsd-zfs  (2.7T)
  5860533128		   7		- free -  (3.5K)

=>		34  5860533101  ada3  GPT  (2.7T)
		  34		  94		- free -  (47K)
		 128	 4194304	 1  freebsd-swap  (2.0G)
	 4194432  5856338696	 2  freebsd-zfs  (2.7T)
  5860533128		   7		- free -  (3.5K)

=>	  34  62333885  da2  GPT  (30G)
		34	  1024	1  bios-boot  (512K)
	  1058		 6	   - free -  (3.0K)
	  1064  62332848	2  freebsd-zfs  (30G)
  62333912		 7	   - free -  (3.5K)


zpool status
Code:
# zpool status
  pool: freenas-boot
 state: ONLINE
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0h6m with 0 errors on Sun Sep 30 03:51:06 2018
config:

		NAME		STATE	 READ WRITE CKSUM
		freenas-boot  ONLINE	   0	 0	 0
		  da2p2	 ONLINE	   0	 0	 0

errors: No known data errors


camcontrol devlist
Code:
# camcontrol devlist
<WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0 82.00A82>	at scbus0 target 0 lun 0 (pass0,ada0)
<WDC WD30EFRX-68EUZN0 82.00A82>	at scbus1 target 0 lun 0 (pass1,ada1)
<ST3000DM001-1ER166 CC26>		  at scbus2 target 0 lun 0 (pass2,ada2)
<ST3000DM001-1ER166 CC26>		  at scbus3 target 0 lun 0 (pass3,ada3)
<Generic Compact Flash 0.00>	   at scbus5 target 0 lun 0 (pass4,da0)
<Generic SD/MMC 0.00>			  at scbus5 target 0 lun 1 (pass5,da1)
<Generic microSD 0.00>			 at scbus5 target 0 lun 2 (pass6,da2)
<Generic MS/MS-PRO 0.00>		   at scbus5 target 0 lun 3 (pass7,da3)
<Generic SM/xD-Picture 0.00>	   at scbus5 target 0 lun 4 (pass8,da4)


glabel status
Code:
# glabel status
									  Name  Status  Components
gptid/e27e1e12-6a30-11e5-ab72-d05099592946	 N/A  ada2p1
gptid/e298bcba-6a30-11e5-ab72-d05099592946	 N/A  ada2p2
gptid/e2ff10f9-6a30-11e5-ab72-d05099592946	 N/A  ada3p1
gptid/e319310f-6a30-11e5-ab72-d05099592946	 N/A  ada3p2
gptid/adf8b63f-6a6a-11e5-8f64-d05099592946	 N/A  da2p1


Let me know if I can provide any other outputs.

Thanks
 

pro lamer

Guru
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
626
Hello, fellow newbie! ;) (don't get confused by my forum trophies, I consider myself a noob since I haven't accomplished my build)

Let me know if I can provide any other outputs.
I guess hardware configuration and FreeNAS version...

Sent from my mobile phone
 

kabux01

Cadet
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
7
Intel G3250
8GB DDR 3 RAM
4 3TB Seagate HDD
ASRock H97M Pro4

OS runs from a usb stick

FreeNAS ver 9.10.2-U4
 

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,800
You're missing a mirrored pair from your pool. Unless you can somehow get one of the missing drives back on line your pool is toast.
 

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Joined
Sep 12, 2014
Messages
4,800
If you are missing 2 drives from a single vdev of mirrored drives then no you cant rebuild it. You need at least 1 drive of the mirrored pair to rebuild from. From the zpool import you posted above you are missing 2 drives from a mirrored pair.
 

kabux01

Cadet
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
7
If you are missing 2 drives from a single vdev of mirrored drives then no you can't rebuild it. You need at least 1 drive of the mirrored pair to rebuild from. From the zpool import you posted above you are missing 2 drives from a mirrored pair.

So it's the vdev that's mirrored and striped across the other vdev and I don't have a complete data set (Mirror 1)?
 

danb35

Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
13,548
4 3TB Seagate HDD
That's not what camcontrol devlist is saying--it's saying ada0 and ada1 are Western Digital disks that either have never been used with FreeNAS, or have been repartitioned since having been used with FreeNAS.
 

kabux01

Cadet
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
7
I replaced those disks because I thought I could get FreeNAS to rebuild the RAID. The previous disks were not reading at all either in the OS or the BIOS
 

kabux01

Cadet
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
7
That's not what camcontrol devlist is saying--it's saying ada0 and ada1 are Western Digital disks that either have never been used with FreeNAS, or have been repartitioned since having been used with FreeNAS.

This is what it shows after putting back the old drives
Code:
# camcontrol devlist
<ST3000DM001-1ER166 CC26>		  at scbus1 target 0 lun 0 (pass0,ada0)
<ST3000DM001-1ER166 CC26>		  at scbus2 target 0 lun 0 (pass1,ada1)
<Generic Compact Flash 0.00>	   at scbus4 target 0 lun 0 (pass2,da0)
<Generic SD/MMC 0.00>			  at scbus4 target 0 lun 1 (pass3,da1)
<Generic microSD 0.00>			 at scbus4 target 0 lun 2 (pass4,da2)
<Generic MS/MS-PRO 0.00>		   at scbus4 target 0 lun 3 (pass5,da3)
<Generic SM/xD-Picture 0.00>	   at scbus4 target 0 lun 4 (pass6,da4)
 

danb35

Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
13,548
The previous disks were not reading at all either in the OS or the BIOS
Well, that would have been helpful to have mentioned earlier. Unless you can resurrect at least one of them, your data would appear to be lost.
 

kabux01

Cadet
Joined
Oct 21, 2018
Messages
7
Well, that would have been helpful to have mentioned earlier. Unless you can resurrect at least one of them, your data would appear to be lost.
It look like to me that the Mirror 1 is a complete data set though. Is there no way to rebuild the RAID based on that mirror? Is there any way to recover that data from the mirror?
 

danb35

Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
13,548
Is there no way to rebuild the RAID based on that mirror?
No. You had two mirrors, striped together. Both disks in one mirror failed. They probably gave plenty of warning, as disks typically do before they fail, but that's in the past now. If you can bring at least one of the apparently-dead disks back to life temporarily, you should be able to replace the other one properly and get your array healthy. If not, your data is gone.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top