SMB Windows Shares + Domain Joined - Domain Users added by default

frtruenas

Cadet
I'm new to TrueNas and I've been scratching my head for some time trying to figure this out, I hope there are some seasoned users out there that can assist.

I've joined my TrueNas instance to my windows domain controller (no issues seeing users or groups), created my pool and a dataset for SMB shares and set my permissions - so far so good. The issue is that no matter what options/settings I use, the "Domain Users" group from AD is always added to new files/directories with modify permissions (when its not listed in the ACL), which means any user can delete files.

My setup.

TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02-RC.2

Clients:
- Windows 8.1
- Windows Server 2016

Dataset
- ACL mode = Restricted
- ACL Type NFSv4
- Case Sensitivity = Insensitive (default)

Filesystem ACL:

ObjectPermissionPermission TypeFlags
owner@ - rootFull Control (Inherit)BasicBasic
group@ - rootModify (inherit)BasicBasic
Domain\GroupAModify (Inherit)BasicBasic
Domain\GroupBRead (Inherit)BasicBasic
Domain\GroupBTraverse (Inherit)BasicBasic

Windows SMB Share Permissions

GroupPermissionType
EveryoneFull Allowed

A user in GroupA can create files and directories, and "Domain\Domain Users" is added with modify permissions. A user in GroupB is not able to create files/directors (as expected) but can delete files/folders created by a user in GroupA. I can't figure out why "Domain\Domain Users" group is added, I've even tried to explicitly add an entry for that group and grant it only READ access, but that didn't work either. If I go back and re-apply the permissions to the dataset, it does remove the "Domain\Domain Users" group and things work as expected, but again any new files receive the group.