SM X10/X11SDV + 10GB Home LAN

imperiosus

Cadet
Hi,

I am a newbie with Freenas, reading a lot as I go, so please don't go harsh on me.
I've set my crosshairs (some parts already purchased) on the following HW:
-X10SDV-4C-TLN2F or X11SDV-4C-TLN2F or X11SDV-4C-TP8F (the latter bcs of 12xSATA and multiple LAN ports - possible to run pfsense as well, but kinda out of budget)
-U-NAS 810A chassis (bought)
-Seasonic FlexPSU 350W (bought)
-64GB ECC DDR4 RDIMM (bought)
-8x WD RED 8TB (bought)
-Samsung 250GB SATA3 SSD for Intent Log (i know its not best choice, had a spare)
-Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVME for Cache (bought)
-Supermicro 32GB SATADOM for boot (have from before)
-Noctua fans, cables, etc... (bought)
-LSI9300 HBA

I want to make use of 10GbE links, the NAS will be used mainly for storing media files such as movies, music, pictures.
So the questions are the following...
Is the above setup capable of delivering? Should I go with X10 or X11 boards?
How should I setup the pool to get the best performance? Raid-z with striping?

I am just pulling the trigger on the mobo now, and your inputs would help a lot.

Edit: wrong thread..sorry, had multiple tabs opened.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
possible to run pfsense as well
What are you planning to use for your hypervisor?
-Samsung 250GB SATA3 SSD for Intent Log (i know its not best choice, had a spare)
-Samsung 970 EVO 250GB NVME for Cache (bought)
Neither of these are good choices but you want the faster one for what you are calling a Log which I am thinking you mean SLOG and the slower one for what you are calling Cache which I am thinking you mean L2ARC. You should review these guides for terminology:

Slideshow explaining VDev, zpool, ZIL and L2ARC
https://www.ixsystems.com/community...ning-vdev-zpool-zil-and-l2arc-for-noobs.7775/

Terminology and Abbreviations Primer
https://www.ixsystems.com/community/threads/terminology-and-abbreviations-primer.28174/

-LSI9300 HBA