Slow Nested VM's Performance

vm-guy

Cadet
Hi all
I’m having a strange performance issue which I can’t explain, hopefully someone can help resolving it.

I’ll start with the hardware specs of my Host
Workstation model: Dell Precision T6710
CPU: 2 x Intel Xeon 2670 v2 10c/20HT @ 2.5GHz
RAM: 192GB DDR Quad Channel
SCSI RAID Controller: LSI SAS2 2308
Disk: Samsung Evo 860 1TB SSD
Hosting OS: Windows 10 Pro 21H1
VM Workstation Pro: v16.2.0 build-18760230
TrueNAS Core: v12.0 U6 (Given 2 CPU's and 16GB of RAM, Lots of free memory and the CPU spikes at times)

I basically use above workstation for my "fairly" complex VMware lab (all working though), which I’ll explain shortly. Few things to mention before we start:
  1. I’m not a TrueNAS expert, so please be easy on me when it comes into what to do.
  2. I have 3 more (different) disks than the one above, but they out of the scope of my issue.
  3. Stated Samsung Evo 860 SSD on LSI SAS2 2308, gets the exact same benchmark results compared to any standard onboard SATA3 PC Controller.

The Lab Layout
My lab consists for several primary and nested VM's to simulate Prod environut functionality, all the VM's are running on stated Samsung Evo 860 SSD, the primary VM's list are:
3 x Windows Server (different versions) Acting as Domain Controller, NFS3 and NFS4.1 storage targets
1 x Windows 7 Pro, acting as a management and PowerShell station
12 x virtualized ESXi 7 VMHosts
OpenFiler v2.99 (is primary iSCSI storage target for my nested VM's)
TrueNAS v12.0 U6 (is the secondary iSCSI storage target, I'd like to migrate to)

And nested VM's list are:
vCenter VCSA
8 Mixed Windows and Linux VM's

Issue Description