Size exceeds zvol allocation

chuck32

Guru
Hello again,

sorry if this a total beginner question but I probably didn't find the correct passage in the documentation.

I have two storage pools mars (two mirrored SSDs) and neptune (4 HHDs in raidz2).

I created a 75 Gb zvol for Ubuntu (or rather it got created during creation of the VM). I replicate that to my HHD pool.

Now two things I observed:
1) The total used size exceeds the allocated zvol size. I assume this is because the snapshots consume space and that used space needs to be accounted for somewhere. However I can't derive the additional space (21 GB) from the snapshots. The used space is much smaller but the referenced space (for all 3) is much larger.
1679581792994.png

1679581885255.png

2) On the HDD pool the sizes are different (although LZ4 is enabled on both). I read somewhere that this may be because raidz2 needs a different overhead in space than a mirrored vdev.
1679582016473.png

1679582039414.png

Can someone explain or point me in the right direction to understand the fundamentals of that?

I'm not really space constrained so practially I don't care too much about that, hoewever I'm curious.

Best regards!

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
1) The total used size exceeds the allocated zvol size.
It's a thick provisioned volume, so was written out at creation time as zeroes.

You installed an OS on it, so that whole used size was then written out in addition (and presumably snapshotted more than once as you continued to change things).

It's a CoW system, so no "overwritten" files (blocks) are actually overwritten, rather newly laid down on the parent pool.

Deletions will only take effect if you clear snapshots referring to them, so using the current "used" space from the OS guest isn't a good measure of the required space to manage the zvol.

2) On the HDD pool the sizes are different (although LZ4 is enabled on both)