Settings reverting and files disappearing on reboot

littlecharva

Cadet
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNAS 8, but ran a 0.69 FreeNAS box for a while before upgrading.

I'm also a bit of a Linux/FreeBSD newb too, but I feel I'm starting to get my head around the whole thing.

Ultimately I'm trying to install MPD5 in order to setup a PPTP server, but the problems I'm encountering seem to be with FreeNAS.

I ssh into FreeNAS from my Windows machine, and then I use su to work as the root account.

I then use nano /etc/rc.conf and make a few changes to that file. Using Ctrl-X to exit, then saying Yes to write out changes tells me that it wrote 48 lines.

I then nano in again to check the file and my changes are still there.

Finally, I reboot and when I check the file again, the changes I've made are gone.

Also, the files and folders setup by the MPD5 installation (/usr/local/etc/mpd5) have vanished.

What am I doing wrong?

Anthony

ProtoSD

MVP
FreeNAS settings are stored in a database which rebuilds a lot of the system files every time you boot. Also those partitions are likely in RAMdisk and get wiped everytime you reboot. There are some discussions here about this, but you'll have to search to find them.

littlecharva

Cadet
Hi Protosd,

Thanks for the response, but I can't seem to find any posts on this at all. I've tried searching for settings database, ram disk and ram partition, but none of the results contain anything relevant.

Can you suggest any other keywords I could try?

I have previously managed to add some Transmission entries in the rc.conf file following a tutorial for installing Transmission, but I'm unable to identify which steps lead to that working.

Anthony

pauldonovan

Explorer
mount -uw /
ee /etc/rc.conf
mount -ur /

Searching the forums for those mount commands will help, as will just performing them :smile:

Paul

ohnename

Explorer