Setting up SSH & Port Forwarding for Remote Access.

Status
Not open for further replies.

climb2bhi

Contributor
I am a total noob with this stuff, however I'm good with hardware and have built myself a very nice NAS box. It is enclosed in a large well ventilated gaming tower with six fans. It is currently running on a SUPERMICRO MBD-H8SMi-2-O motherboard with AMD Opteron 1218 2.6ghz, 2GB DDR2 800 SDRAM (soon to have 8GB DDR2 800 SDRAM), Dual-port Gigabit LAN/Ethernet, 6 SATA2 3.0 Gb/s HDD connectors on the motherboard, Plus 2 PCI-e SATA cards allowing for 6 more drives. 64-bit FreeNAS 8.0.3 installed on a 8 GB USB Drive. I have temporarily installed 2 500GB SATA drives just to test setting up and getting the system going. On the way are 6x 2TB SATA Advanced Format drives. Which I'm hoping will give me something like 8TB usable storage with ZFS. It all came together a week ago and I have had fun over the last week getting it up and running, creating user profiles, deleting users, enabling services, getting it running and then fooling with it until it breaks, resetting it and getting it all going again. All the while with out loosing a couple of test video files on the temp drives. It has been a real learning process since I know nothing about networking and dont speak Networkese. I am happy with the whole thing and look forward to putting a huge amount of movies, music, and photos on it, and streaming them to my home theater computer. I would like my girlfriend to be able to upload and download photos to it from her house so my next step is to enable SSH and try to get my router and DSL modem to allow her remote access using Filezilla. I do not have a static WAN IP (just learned what that is) so she will need to call me each time she wants to use it so I can give her my latest WAN IP. Which is fine. I have read the FreeNAS user guide and have a rough idea how to set up SSH with a user account for her. But I'm sure I'm missing some settings in my NAS and have no ide