Scale crashes during file transfer

waldizo

Cadet
Hello everyone, I'm new to TrueNAS Scale and hope you can help me out here.

After updating to Scale 23 my system crashes: mainly when i transfer files to it through sftp, but sometimes even while accessing files. When starting a file transfer everything looks normal, then it looses connection not only to sftp but also the web gui, smb and commands through supermicro like "graceful shutdown" dont work only forced shutdown. The log files are empty during the time of the crash. I do get many "truenas kernel: EDID block 0 is all zeroes" errors and "Failed to start nslcd.service - LSB: LDAP connection daemon." after startup. With a screen I can't see what's happening after/ during the crash as for some reason after the supermicro logo theres no signal on VGA once Truenas is booting. Performed long smart tests on all drives, everything looks good.
Tried my best to read up on the issues but reached the limits of my knowledge, hope someone can help me out. Will attach logs.

I'm mainly using it as media storage and run truecharts jellyfin on it.

System Info:
TrueNAS-SCALE-23.10.1.3
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G4600 @ 3.60GHz
Motherboard: Supermicro x11ssh-ln4f
RAM: 4x Micron 16GB ECC DIMM
Drives: 6 WD Red 14TB HDD + 2 InnovationIT 1TB SSD

RAIDz2: 6 WD Red 14TB:
5x WDC_WD140EFGX-68B0GN0 7200 RPM
1x WDC_WD140EFFX-68VBXN0 5400 RPM

Boot pool mirrored:
2x SSD_2.5__1TB_InnovationIT_QLC

Attachments

• all_logs.txt
    770.8 KB · Views: 51
  • error_logs.txt
    27.7 KB · Views: 67
  • ker_logs.txt
    780.3 KB · Views: 54
  • sys_logs.txt
    4.1 MB · Views: 147

Kris Moore

SVP of Engineering
Administrator
iXsystems
I'd suggest first trying the Dragonfish Beta, newer kernel, see if the issue persists. If it doesn't, then it may have been a kernel issue with the particular hardware. If the issue persists, you may wish to open a ticket up for us to investigate, check the thermals, etc etc.

Manual Update:

ISO Download: