sbmd Core files for executables have been found

Hi, being a relative noob, I'm struggling to figure out what to do with the warning I started getting this morning:
Core files for executables have been found in /var/db/system/cores.

It seems to be related to the Samba share. As I can see the TRUENAS server in windows explorer, but no longer am able to access the files on it. The corresponding core files also all seem to relate to the smdb service.
Schermafbeelding 2024-02-05 102955.png

After receiving this error I ran the latest upgrade to TrueNAS-SCALE-23.10.1.3. But that didn't have any effect.
How now best to troubleshoot/fix this?

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
I fixed a bug for 23.10.2 where smbd would assert / crash on accessing shadow copies in a ZFS snapdir where the user lacked read access to its mountpoint. O_PATH opens are insufficient to maintain auto-mounted ZFS snapshots in the ZFS ctldir, which means we need to maintain a refcounted non-O_PATH open as samba accesses data there (otherwise fs operatios will inexplicably fail with EBADF IIRC). Refcounting is necessary so that we need know to pull out the door-wedge to allow ZFS to dynamically unmount the snapshot.

There's a separate upstream bug that will be fixed in 23.10.2 where certain operations on alternate data streams while doing a shutdown close of a file could cause a crash.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Another problem that we've seen is that users are getting in situations where `/var/run` is 100% filled. We were in some situations git cloning charts to a subdirectory there in some situations where users didn't have an apps pool created. This worked okay for our own charts, but TrueCharts can consume over 1 GiB IIRC. When smbd is unable to initialize a messaging context (in this case due to having no free space available) it will assert.

@anados, the '/var/run' was indeed 100% filled.