SAS Multipath support on TrueNAS Scale 22.12.X

morphin

Dabbler
Hello everyone!

I'm new in this forum but I'm a very old freenas user.
I wanted to create a new NFS storage but after 3-4 years even freenas name was changed.

I did some research on speed and stability comparision and I decided to use TrueNAS Scale because it is Linux based and it is faster on some cases.
After installation I realized that there is no multipath support yet.
I checked the kernel with "lsmod | grep multipath" and kernel has multipath and its loaded.
I run some multipath related command but they does not exist at userland.

I have a lot of experience on configuring multipath service and config but I'm afraid about 2 things:
1- Somehow it could conflict with the gui and the pool will be corrupted.
2- When you add multipath on feature release, after version update this may cause problems and pool will be corrupted.

Now lets talk about the best practice of manually implementing multipath feature:
1- Export all pools (if it exist)
2- Install multipath tools
3- Play around with multipath config
4- Generate multipath links
5- Check the links with $(multipath -ll) command via shell
6- If everything looks good, reboot the server (to be safe, I recommend disabling the auto pool import and test it first)
7-If everything looks good, enable the auto pool import and reboot the server
8- Check the pool via zpool status and be sure everyhing is allright.
9- Check the drive links and be sure the pool is imported by using multipath links.
Thats it!

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I did some research on speed and stability comparision and I decided to use TrueNAS Scale because it is Linux based and it is faster on some cases.

That's weird. What cases are those? In general, the ZFS codebase is the same between CORE and SCALE, but CORE leads on stuff like dynamic ARC memory management and in-kernel iSCSI that make it a much more compelling choice.