SAS controller compatibility

LP1

Cadet
Hi all,

I am new to TrueNAS and wanted to check if my hardware would be compatible to run it, and if not - what would be things which I must change before it works. Specifically, I want to change as little as possible, so it should be something that absolutely won't work before changing it. To be fair I am kind of getting annoyed with how specific the controller has to be for it to work...

I am sure this question has been asked many times, so sorry if it sounds repetitive, but I have seen a lot of "recommended hardware" threads that are from 2012 or 2016 etc. and I am sure that by now that advice may be outdated. Besides I am not looking to get the best possible hardware in each slot, merely the hardware which works at the lowest possible price.

So, to start with - I already have the following and I ideally I don't want to change any key components:

System 1#
MB Asus KGPE-D16
CPU 2x6386 SE
RAM 128GB ECC REG (8GBx16)
PSU 1000W DELL H1000E-00

System 2#
MB Asus Maximus III Extreme
CPU Xeon X3480
RAM 32GB (8GBx4)
PSU 860W Corsair AX860i

I have purchased 10x4TB SEAGATE SAS drives (ST4000NM0023) - my end goal here is a relatively fast array of 8x4TB with 2 cold spares, or maybe I get another 6 drives and make it 16x4TB.
As well I have a bunch of SSDs for SLOG and OS, or to aid configuration where SSD may be useful - old 60GB/120GB SSDs of various brands, 250/500GB Samsung 840s, 860s Pro/EVOs, some M2 SSDs.