Running multiple plugins in a single jail (How to?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MortenSJ

Explorer
Hi guys

I'm fairly new to FreeNAS and messed with it a while ago. I'm expanding my disks and figure it would be a good time to redo the setup and do it the right way this time. After spending a lot of time reading about best practice i realize that the way i set it up before wasn't the best way.

Now i got to the plugins. Before i installed the plugins through the GUI and now see that it might not be the best solution if I always want to have the newest version of a plugin (Plex pass).

This time i'm going to do it manually with the pkg.

This leads me to the actual question. I see that some people prefer to have all the plugins in a single jail. Is that best practice or just a matter of preference? I can see the benefits of having everything run on the same IP. Is there other pro's / cons with this?

If i were to go this route, how should i approach this when creating the first jail?

Hope you guys can clarify this for me. Thanks in advance.

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
I see that some people prefer to have all the plugins in a single jail. Is that best practice or just a matter of preference?
I see it as a matter of choice. I chose to put media-related apps in one jail (Plex, SABnzbd, Sonarr) and others in their own jails (BTSync, VirtualBox). The benefit of fewer jails is reduced complexity and perhaps slightly lower resource usage. The benefit of more jails is the ability to destroy and recreate a jail independently.
If i were to go this route, how should i approach this when creating the first jail?
  1. Learn how to SSH into your box, then jls to find a jail's number and jexec <jailnum> csh to get to a shell in that jail.
  2. Create a standard jail.
  3. Execute pkg update && pkg upgrade in the jail's shell.
  4. Use pkg search <partofappname> to find the package you want.
  5. pkg install <packagename>

MortenSJ

Explorer