Replacing unreliable boot USB drives with SSD's

Status
Not open for further replies.

philsta

Cadet
Hi there
I'm new to FreeNAS having only built my first server earlier this week, however after reading some suggestions decided to go with a mirrored boot drive setup using USB Thumb drives for this I used a pair of SanDisk 16GB Cruzer Fit's. Unfortunately they have been a pain in the ass in the past week have been failing and resilvering ( it's very slow ), apart from this I'm very happy with the server and even though it's only running 16GB of RAM and a Xeon E3-1220 v2 it can happily stream a 4k .mkv file using Plex. So my proposal is to bin these annoying USB drives and replaces them with two 30GB SSD's. Will the below procedure work well?

Open CLI and use the following commands:

zpool detach freenas-boot da0p2 ( remove 1 of the USB drives )

zpool attach freenas-boot xxxxx ( import SSD to boot mirror )

zpool attach freenas-boot xxxxx ( import second SSD to mirror )

zpool detach freenas-boot da2p2 ( remove remaining USB drive )

I should then be left with the two mirrored SSD's as the boot drive?

So far to test I added a further USB thumb drive to the boot mirror and once it had the boot config installed detached it and all seems well so I'm thinking that the above should work and may be faster than backing up the config and key then doing a reinstall and importing everything back.

Any suggestions?

Last edited by a moderator:

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Or simply save config install to new drives and upload saved config. Seems easier to me unless you want to do the CLI dance above.

philsta

Cadet
I kind of like getting into the CLI, been working in IT since the early 90's and find you learn a lot more about how a system works using the command line and I'm new to zfs so if what I posted will work then I'll give it a go, after all if it fails I have a backup and can just reinstall and restore the saved config.

danb35

Hall of Famer