Remove a Volume

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ov10fac

Cadet
I have been searching the web and here for a few days with no luck. I know this should be simple, but I just can't seem to find the answer.

I have upgraded to a new server and am replacing two external (USB) drives with one SATA raid. I have copied all files to the new drive and now want to simply remove the USB drives from FreeNas.

Both the USB drives are UFS mounts. I expected a simple menu item or button to "remove" or "delete" a volume, but I can't find anything like that.

I am running FreeNAS 8

Any help appreciated.

Similar Issue

I am having a similar issue. I am new to FreeNAS and trying to play around with it on a small test system of spare parts.

It is installed onto the USB key no problem, and see's my small 60GB drive no problem. I then created a Volume as ZFS, and it shows up in the UI under /mnt/data, however, I want to delete it, and try to do some other things with it. I cant find a way to delete.

I am running FreeNAS 8.0.3.

kjertil

Dabbler
Removing disks or volumes

Reading the guide about exporting an ZFS volume does not really answer my question...
How do you erase an failed volume?
I get messages like "an error occured"... when trying to create a RAID volume.
Now i cannot delete it. It just shows up as a volume!

kjertil

Dabbler
I'm sorry if this sounds offensive to anyone, but shouldn't this be one of the key functions of managing "volumes" ?
It feels like this function has been hidden away because of bugs or incomplete functionality.
I would be glad if anyone could clearify...

peterh

Patron
a shell lis concluded for completeness !
In addition the shell is scriptable and may do arbitrarily complex functions ( for those so inclined :smile:

kjertil

Dabbler
yes do i understand that the command prompt COULD be the solution.
How ever i am not a freeBSD guy and don't feel for learning freeBSD just so
i can MAYBE remove a "volume" in freeNAS.