Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Remote Syslog Server on FreeNas

xames

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
178
chown graylog:graylog graylog.conf log4j2.xml, why graylog:graylog?
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,695
These are the jail properties, i cannot find the
mount_fdescfs:1 and enforce_statfs:1

allow_set_hostname
allow_sysvipc
allow_raw_sockets
allow_chflags
allow_mlock
allow_vmm
allow_quotas
allow_socket_af
allow_mount
It's in the Jail Properties tab of the jail.
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,695
chown graylog:graylog graylog.conf log4j2.xml, why graylog:graylog?
So Graylog can work. Before the colon sets the owner; after the colon sets the group owner.
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,695

danb35

Wizened Sage
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
11,933
Input 5f26b7aa1559cb6ab29aabd6 has failed to start on node 453fd7fc-0e3d-414d-aca0-c8496367d940 for this reason: »Permission denied
I suspect you've failed to set ownership of one or more of the directories you needed to specify in graylog.conf to the graylog user/group.
 

xames

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
178
now a widget connection refused, how i can upgrade to the latest version of graylog over shell?
 

danb35

Wizened Sage
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
11,933
how i can upgrade to the latest version of graylog over shell?
Wait for a new FreeBSD package to be released.
 

xames

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
178
I have all working, the only that seems not working is the oitside acces on the graylog webpage. I have a dns pointing to my graylog ip over 9000 port, and the fdqn resolving outside and inside, but only work inside the same lan, outside is blank page. I have a forward port on my router pointing to my freenas jail ip 192.168.0.98 on port 9000, but nothing, i only have 192.168.0.98:9000 on the bind_adress on configuration, i try all the others but then not working the internal webpage.
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,695
I have all working, the only that seems not working is the oitside acces on the graylog webpage. I have a dns pointing to my graylog ip over 9000 port, and the fdqn resolving outside and inside, but only work inside the same lan, outside is blank page. I have a forward port on my router pointing to my freenas jail ip 192.168.0.98 on port 9000, but nothing, i only have 192.168.0.98:9000 on the bind_adress on configuration, i try all the others but then not working the internal webpage.
Unless you enabled TLS support in graylog.conf, I don't recommend you expose your graylog jail to the Internet like this. Run a VPN on your router, and access your graylog installation that way.
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,695

danb35

Wizened Sage
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
11,933
uff to much for me, i wait for a Danb35 script ;-)
You might be waiting for a while, and any script I might do to install this isn't going to enable TLS. But you could put it behind a reverse proxy, and I'll have a script out within a couple of days on that subject--though if you use a router that has this capability (like pfSense or OPNsense), you might want to use that instead.
 
Last edited:

xames

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
178
It seems like all my jails corrupted other time... i don't know what is happening with this bsd release version 12.1
 

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Moderator
Joined
Apr 24, 2020
Messages
2,695
I cannot see in 12.1 version.
Then you'll have to do it via command line:

Code:
iocage set mount_fdescfs=1 graylog
iocage set enforce_statfs=1 graylog
 

xames

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
178
Corrupt again. This morning working fine... i don't know why, but web gui of graylog is working i really not understand.

TrueNas notification say:
Scrub of pool 'boot-pool' finished.
2020-08-05 03:45:35 (America/Los_Angeles)
 
Last edited:

xames

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
178
Yesterday I reinstall all, with 13.1 release but now seems not load web gui. same on other machine. Shows the icon and the source code fine, but blank page.

And again corrupt, how i can know why are my jails corrupted, again and again? Tuneables have somethink to consider here? i put the tuneables that samuel said the other day.
 
Last edited:

danb35

Wizened Sage
Joined
Aug 16, 2011
Messages
11,933
Yesterday I reinstall all, with 13.1 release
Since there is no such release, no, you didn't. You may have done it with 12.0 (which is still in beta), or with some flavor of 11.3 (which is an actual release). But if your jails are being corrupted, there's assuredly something going on not tied to installing this software. I'd encourage you to track that down in a separate thread (with way more details than, well, you've given in any post you've made in these forums).
 
Top