Recover data freenas & esxi 5.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Panagiotis

Dabbler
Hi,

Before i start let me tell you 2 things.
1. I know freenas & virtualisation is a bad thing and not recommended
2. I have little to none linux knowledge

Having said that, i move to the problem.

I have an esxi server at home that runs a few things (mikrotik, proxy etc). I had 2x1tb spare drives and thought i would give Freenas a try. Since the pc is dual core 4gb ram, i went with ufs and (i guess raid0 or the freenas equivalent)

I mounted the drives using this guide http://mogsub.com/2013/03/27/building-a-nas-part-2-installing-esxi-and-freenas/

Everything went great very happy for 2-3 months no problems at all

Due to some weird kvm - usb mouse bios setting incompatibility, i had to reset the esxi bios. After that (and having reconfigured all the bios settings as before), freenas did not recognize the disks size and i could not access the data. Deleting the volume and auto-reimporting reports The selected disks were not verified for this import rules

in esxi
fdisk -l

Disk /dev/disks/t10.ATA_____WDC_WD10EADS2D11M2B1__________________________WD2DWCAV54002750: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Disk /dev/disks/t10.ATA_____WDC_WD10EADS2D11M2B1__________________________WD2DWCAV54002750 doesn't contain a valid partition table

Disk /dev/disks/t10.ATA_____WDC_WD10EADS2D11M2B1__________________________WD2DWCAV53956395: 1000.2 GB, 1000203804160 bytes

Disk /dev/disks/t10.ATA_____WDC_WD10EADS2D11M2B1__________________________WD2DWCAV53956395 doesn't contain a valid partition table
Any help on recovering the data?

Whattteva

Wizard