RAID Advice for Newbie using TN12

LazyBoy2

Cadet
Hi Everyone.
I am a novice PC builder and NAS user but after amassing shed loads of digital family photos and my wife running out of free google storage I had to decide on paying for google storage that was unique to her or sorting out out something at home for everyone to use. I had an old PC that was lying idle in the loft so after a bit of research I decided to build a NAS. This will be used to store photos (less than 400GB) and serve music to a Sonos Move, the important thing is not to loose the photos so I am also thinking of offsite (Online?) backup.
TrueNAS core v12.005 is now installed on the machine, I have accessed it via the web interface and all seems to be ok. I need to create some user accounts and configure the storage, for info the hardware is:

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-H77M-D3H (rev. 1.0)
16GB non Ecc Ram
Intel I5 Chip
1x PNY 120 GB ssd system drive With 16GB Ram swap partition.
2x Samsung 870 QVO 1TB ssds for storage.

When buying the drives I tried to balance cost against reliability bearing in mind the light workload of the NAS. Quietness was also important as this machine may be living in the loft and vibration could be an issue.
I had it in mind that I would Mirror the storage drives (RAID 1) for the best data integrity.

So my RAID / Storage related questions are.
1. Is Raid 1 a good (best?) option for me.
2. Can the 1TB vdev (2x 1TB mirrored drives) be expanded after creation without data loss or would any extra drives require another vdev?
3. Can a Second vdev be created without damaging the first one.
4. My plan is just to have 1TB of storage subdivided into folders is this an efficient way to use the storage
5. Any general advice on setting up the storage to allow future flexibility
6. What have I completely misunderstood or overlooked.

Sorry for the long first post just wanted to get all the relevant info in, so if any one is still reading your help and advice would be appreciated.