Question on creating a failsafe/rotating offsite Backup with FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Micheal

Cadet
Hello Everyone,

I'm fairly new to the FreeNAS community, I've been using it for a couple of months. I'm truly loving it. At home I've been using NAS4Free due to my NAS being an Aspire Home Server with an Intel Atom, 4TB storage (with not the best retention), and 2GB RAM (I've had it for like 6 years). I've been wanting to replace it. I have a budget "infrastructure" project I'm working on and I was wondering if I could get some help. This is my first post, so go easy on me lol.

What I would like to do is take a 12TB FreeNAS Volume/dataset (8TB Usable on a RAIDZ2) and clone the whole data-pool/data-set to an external USB Drive (8TB) when connected.

1) I would like the entire data-pool to be intact so that, in a worst case scenario, I could do something like launch a clone of the USB (FreeNAS OS) drive as an ISO image (which I already have using ImageUSB) in say VirtualBox on any machine and mount the external drive, rebuild the volume and be up and running as a temporary solution (though performance would be slow.. but again as a fail-safe scenario).

2) I would like the entire data-pool to be synced incrementally, so that it's technically always a full backup/clone of the FreeNAS server volume but only take the time to transfer/sync what has changed (for speed and efficiency). I would also like it to retain all of the snapshots points/shadow copies.

3) I don't want anything graphical as I'd like to run it as an automatic job when one of the externals are mounted (which I would like to be done automatically and the USB devices verified against a config file to assure that only the drives designated can be written to). I would like the backup to take place automatically when a verified drive is mounted (one of at least two for rotating/offsite backups) so that there does not need to be a defined schedule.