Proxmox Inception

otpi

Contributor
So many virtualized TrueNAS instances. Two sides can play that game!

In all seriousness:
  • Is there a use case?
  • Any gotchas? Or best practice?
  • I allocated 1 CPU, 8 cores and 2 threads per core (basically 1 of two CPUs in this server). Is it better to just use 16C/1T?
  • I used pass-through for CPU
  • I have some experience running Proxmox, and I'd like to move (cold migrate) those VMs to this new system (amd to Intel).
Anyway. Proxmox now has a small corner in my TrueNAS Scale box.

TrueNASScaleProxmoxInception.png

thomas-hn

Explorer
So you will let run Proxmox VE on top of KVM? Isn't this a huge overhead because of double virtualization (TrueNAS KVM + Proxmox) for each of your Proxmox virtual machines?

otpi

Contributor
huge overhead
I don't know. I figured I'd try. In my mind there should be very little overhead as the CPU is passed through.

Mostly I'm just playing around and was looking to see if I could live migrate VMs from my amd proxmox server to this proxmoxVM

It could be used for quorum in a HA setup where you're one physical box short and want to use TrueNAS on one...

otpi

Contributor
It works. I can migrate just fine. I found some articles investigating nested kvm performance. There's a penalty, but depends.

I have some networking issues, but that's not related to nesting hypervisors.

thomas-hn

Explorer
It works. I can migrate just fine. I found some articles investigating nested kvm performance. There's a penalty, but depends.

As almost one year has passed since the discussion above:
Do you still use this setup?
Have you found any issues so far?
Would you recommend this type of setup?

otpi

Contributor
Almost a year?! time...