Pool setup suggestions

csdesigns

Cadet
Hello everyone,

Admittedly, I'm a newb here when it comes to TrueNAS, so looking for any and all suggestions regarding optimal setup of ZFS pools... I've long been in the QNAP ecosystem with many of their different NAS products, but recent events and performance has got me looking over the fence to see how green the neighbor's yard truly is.

I recently installed TrueNAS Scale onto a TS-1679U-RP with the following specs (no apparent hw issues or incompatibilities):
  • Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1275 V2 @ 3.50GHz
  • 32GB 1866MHz RAM
  • 16x 4TB 7200rpm SATA HDD
  • 2x M.2 SATA 512GB SSD
  • QNAP QM2-2S-220A Dual M.2 SATA SSD Expansion PCIe Card
  • Emulex OneConnect 10Gbps PCIe NIC
  • 1x 120GB SATA SSD
TrueNAS OS was installed onto the 120GB SATA SSD (there is an available port for a second SSD that I can install if OS redundancy is really that heavily recommended). Compared to QTS (booted from the DOM), boot up performance has increased 10-fold, so I'm extremely pleased on that front thus far. I currently have 16x 7200rpm HDDs in the 16 drive bays, but plan to replace these within the next few months with 10TB 7200rpm drives.

The main purpose of this storage will be for archiving large video files (i.e. actual lossless video projects, not BD-rips or torrent downloads) and Cloned Images / TimeMachine backups. I have the 2x M.2 SATA drives available for 1TB caching, but it is unclear based on my research how beneficial this will be to me with ZFS, or even how to best set this up with TrueNAS.

I'm hoping someone here can take a quick look at the above and recommend an optimal storage pool setup. Whether I should create multiple storage pools, the layout type, etc. I currently run with RAID 6 or 10 on most of my storage units, if that is of any help.

Thanks.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
How are all those disks actually connected to the host?