PLP'ted SSD-Pool - SLOG needed?

dareinelt

Cadet
Hey,

I'm relatively new to the TrueNAS-universe. In my all day work I'm a systems administrator in a hospital that uses a NetApp Metro Cluster for general file storage and serving storage to our ESX-farm - so maybe the totally different part of the whole storage world compared to TrueNAS when it comes to configuration and sometimes features.
But I'm someone who likes to educate and introduce myself tho something new, so I want to get some TrueNAS practice in my homelab. The first box is running fine for a while - it's only there for some medium-fast file-access yet, but I want it to serve my virtualization-box some block storage options.
After some research I hang on getting some Intel SSD D3-4610 with 480GB and put at least four of them in striped mirrors. They will be presentated via iSCSI to my virtualization-box.

For better insight; here are my configurations for filer and hypervisor:

• Supermicro X9SRi-F
  • Intel Xeon E5-1620 v2
  • 64GB DDR3 ECC Reg
  • LSI 9207-4i4e IT-Mode
  • Supermicro SuperChassis 826TQ-R800LPB
  • Backplane replaced with BPN-SAS2-826EL1
  • 8x WD RED EFRX 2TB -> 4 vdev striped mirrors
  • TrueNAS-12.0-U2.1

• Dell Poweredge R630
  • 2x Intel Xeon E5-2630 v3
  • 384GB DDR4 ECC Reg
  • 2x 120 GB SDD for Proxmox VE 6.3
  • 256GB Samsung PM981a for local storage in PCIe->M.2 adapter card

I don't have experience with using block storage in FreeNAS - I've only read the typical and often mentioned threads here in the community. So it seems, that the basics are the same compared to other solutions.
Now to the main-question I'm writing here: Is it really needed to have an SLOG-device for performant sync-writes if the SSDs in the pool to be stored on are already powerlossprotected? Is the acknowledge of the succussfull write transfered "out of the pool" or will I need something like an Optane/RMS-200/SS530 to get fast(er) sync-writes in this configuration?

jgreco

Resident Grinch

kdog2