PLEX permission issues (default password??)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,

Please be gentle as I'm a noob to FreeNas and only have some limited experience with the Unix system.

I see this has been covered numerous times in countless threads already but I can't quite find the exact information that I'm after.

I've created the following datasets:

/mnt/Data/Home-Videos - Owner - root Group - HomeUsers rwxrwx---
/mnt/Data/Photos - Owner - root Group - HomeUsers rwxrwx---
/mnt/Data/Videos/Music/Apps - Owner - root Group - Public rwxrwx---

I've mapped Storage from plex like so:

/media/Home-Videos > /mnt/Data/Home-Videos
/media/Photos > /mnt/Data/Photos
/media/Music > /mnt/Data/Videos-Music-Apps/Music
/media/Movies > /mnt/Data/Videos-Music-Apps/Videos/Movies
/media/TV > /mnt/Data/Videos-Music-Apps/Videos/TV

I've created a plex user and group with UID and GID of 972 and made the plex user have a Primary Group membership of HomeUsers with Aux groups of plex and Public. I have tried a blank password and password of plex for this user.

Now I would have thought that this would have gave plex enough permissions to allow it to access my datasets and populate the media server with content but apparently not.

If I change my datasets to rwxrwxr-x to allow guest users plex functions fantastic but I don't want this.

I plan on making certain datasets on my NAS accessible via the Internet so don't want guest users with a blank password being able to access ALL of my data for the sake of getting plex working.

Does plex have a default password? Is it something as simple as this where I am going wrong? I must be missing something simple but every thread I've read so far just says change the permissions to 777 but this isn't a secure option for me.

To assist I have been getting the following messages when I look at the physical FreenNAS box:

plexmediaserver_1 cron[82025]: login_getclass: unknown class daemon'