Permissions not applying - SMB share on Ubuntu 18.04

Mudslinger

Cadet
I have been working on my media server the last couple of days but i can't seem to wrap my head around the permissions. For some reason, i don't have permission to write.

I have been running freenas for several years now (current build: FreeNAS-11.1-U7), it has 2 users, my personal account and a 'plex' account and a group called 'thuisgroep'. Both users are part of this group.
The dataset has the PERMISSION_TYPE "windows". Most computers are windows based, with some a few unix based systems. the OWNER and GROUP have read, write and execute permissions. And i'm sharing it via the SMB protocol.
In Windows i have no trouble accessing the share nor do i have issues with permissions. Everything works, i can add, remove, change, create etc.

The mediaserver runs on Ubuntu Server 18.04 which runs things like Plex. So adding the share to my mediaserver is required for plex to see all the content. For now its a fresh install, doesn't have a firewall enabled. The only things installed are updates, ssh, cifs-utils and docker.

I had a previous server running ubuntu 16.04 on which everything worked, so i simply copied the entries in /etc/fstab.
This is one of the entries:
//192.168.1.100/storage/music /mnt/Music/ cifs iocharset=utf8,credentials=/home/user/.smbcredentials,sec=ntlmssp 0 0
All i needed to do was to make sure the UID and GID on ubuntu matches those on freenas. (and ofcourse create the directory in /mnt and give it permissions).

Once i matched those, i mounted to share with sudo mount -a and the share is mounted.
I can mount the share without a hitch, i can mount it with both my own account as well as 'plex'. the problem i have is that the permissions in Ubuntu look like this:
Code:
drwxrwxr-x  3  775 root 4096 Jun  8 16:59 ./
drwxr-xr-x 23 root root 4096 Jun  8 16:22 ../
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root    0 Jun  9 10:41 test/