SOLVED periodic snapshot task triggers ... ?

jjb2018

Dabbler
Hi folks,

I'm new to FreeNAS. I've been running a Linux machine at home for a few years now with ZoL, and have now build a new FreeNAS machine to use primarily for backup storage. I have this FreeNAS machine at my office so I might also tinker a bit with using it for VM image storage. At the moment I have an RSYNC task setup to run once a day to pull data from my main linux machine at home. And I also have a periodic snapshot task setup to snapshot the backup destination dataset 5 mins before the next RSYNC task starts. So the auto snapshots are essentially taking a snapshot of the result of the previous RSYNC task ... which hopefully completes before the auto snapshot occurs. But I'm relying on the RSYNC task completing before the snapshot it taken, and a don't want any snapshots taken if the RSYNC task is still running - I know it's unlikely that the RSYNC task will run for more than 23h55min, but it could happen. There is a disconnect between the RSYNC tasks and the Periodic Snapshot tasks.

So at this point my question is probably obvious - is there a way to configure a scheduled task (whether it's a cron task or rsync task, or whatever) to trigger a periodic snapshot task that has been pre-configured? I have configured the periodic snapshot task to keep for 1 month. I just need some way of configuring the RSYNC task to trigger the pre-configured snapshot task rather than the snapshot task being triggered on a time basis.

If somebody knows of a straightforward way of achieving this then please share. Otherwise how do I submit an enhancement request to the devs?

Cheers,
JB

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I know it's unlikely that the RSYNC task will run for more than 23h55min, but it could happen.
I had an rsync running for about 28 days one time (over a 10Gb link, local LAN) to initially load data onto a new server. How long it runs depends entirely on how much data there is to copy.