Partitioning Harddrive partitions into small portions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

mike360x1

Contributor
I am new to Freenas 8 and thus I would then call myself a n00b here. So I'm assuming this is the right category to hit.

Ok before I describe to you my problem, here's just a simple description of my parts list

Mobo Acer ( have yet to find out model)**Freenas Has no problems with that mobo so far
80GB HDD (for Freenas)**Yes I know its overkill. I know you can install such a program on a simple 4 GB flash.
320GB (for Storage) **Its my temporary Drive, I am going to test this system and see if it fits my needs. if this works, then I will switch to a RAID 1 with 2-2TB WD REDS
2024MB RAM
Pent D 3.4Ghz CPU

Now, what I want to do is separate my work files from my Other stuff. Now in order for this to happen I want to have different partitions or different file stores to separate movies from word documents. From my experience ( 2 Weeks of Google and fooling around with the FREENAS GUI) It seems that I can only have different partitions with different *physical hard drives I attach to it. I can never split one drive into 2 different partitions.

I guess by now you know what I'm going to ask. Can you split one Physical Hard drive into multiple partitions and have a way to have different users log on to different partitions. ( IE: CIFS Or FTPS)

//from what I've heard, You need to have your System to set to ZFS which I cannot at the moment because I am limited by my ram (and anything else you guys think will limit me).
However, if it is absolutely necessary, I will take into consideration to upgrade my RAM.

JaimieV

Guru
With ZFS:
You can create multiple Volumes from your physical disk set (equivalent to partitions of the set, not each disk)
You can create multiple Datasets in a volume (each can have a max size and various other attributes).

With UFS I don't know what's available.