SOLVED One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data corruption. Help???

Alex762

Dabbler
Hello. I'm rather new with TrueNas and today I discovered that I got an error a few days ago saying "Pool storage state is ONLINE: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data corruption. Applications may be affected."

I tried to run the "zpool status -v" command and this is what I got (sorry for screenshot, couldn't copy/paste the output):
1705003227623.png

So basically somehow a video I took years ago got corrupted, not a big deal, but what should I do next? Action says I can restore the file or restore from backup, but how? I have a RAID 1 (mirrored) configuration, but I'm not entirely sure what to do without risking to writing the wrong command and lose my data.
Any help will be greatly appreciated, thank you!!

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
If you're not using snapshots and also don't have a backup, you've lost the non-corrupt version of that file forever now.

The 2 options you have:

1. test playing the file all the way through and if the player can cope with whatever the corruption is, you're in luck, nothing of consequence lost, just copy the file and delete the original (if you can) to make the error go away.

2. accept the loss of the file and delete it directly.

What you're going to want to do more generally is understand how this can happen to you... since it "should" be impossible with a ZFS pool with redundancy and properly designed and implemented hardware.

Perhaps if you share your hardware information, we could help you get to the bottom of that.

Alex762

Dabbler
If you're not using snapshots and also don't have a backup, you've lost the non-corrupt version of that file forever now.

The 2 options you have: