Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Ode to the Dell C2100/FS12-TY

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
3,214
Now hopefully the RAM issue that I had initially doesn't come up at some point too :p
My MB/CPU combo didn't like DDR3L for some reason; I could run with a different CPU with my RAM no problem; I could run with my CPU and DDR3 non-low voltage. I ended up mixing the DDR3 (I had 2x8GB, not enough to run on) and DDR3L (8x8GB, what I bought) which forced the DDR3L to run at standard voltage and works without issue besides a message complaining about it.

UPDATE: I swear to god this thing is gonna give me a heart condition. I've started the burn-in testing using the SAS->SATA ports since the drives autonegotiate to SATA2 and they've hit 46C compared to the other drives at 40C. I guess I'm going to have to unquiet my BMC to get some higher fan speeds, good thing this thing is in an unused room.
As far as RAM goes, I personally exclusively use Samsung M393B2K70CM0-YF8 (Example: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-M3...398569?hash=item2ad16fe869:g:rLgAAOSwxm5dPigB). I tried best never to mix RAM to avoid any issues.

What drives are you using again? If they are SAS, expect them to run hotter. Especially if you are burning them in anyways.

In all honesty, I have always had my Critical Temp Warning set at "48" and really never had issues (for both SAS and SATA drives). Most people would say I was running too hot, but if you check the actual Vendor specs of your drives, you may be surprised at what temps they can really handle. Example: I have a server filled with 12xHGST 4TB SAS (HUS724040ALS640). Per the Specs, Ambient Operating Temps are 5 to 60 C; so personally I feel my setting of 12C below max is safe.

My Servers run 24/7 in my "basement office" not more than 6 feet from me (in a Dell Full Server Rack). However, when I first moved everything there a few years ago I did stick a standing fan in front of the rack running on low just because I had moved everything from my hot garage (concrete floors hold crap tons of heat during summer). This is not due to me worrying about any particular Server, it was because I have 4 of them running along with a Raritan KVMoIP, 1GB Switch, 10 GB Switch, UPS, Raritan PDU, 17" Dell Slide Out Monitor/KB/Mouse, etc..

I have considered exploring the Dell R730xd, since the C2100/FS12-TY are super antiquated; but just can't bring myself to it. Heck I still have 2 Servers with 24x2.5" bays I have been waiting to fill when SSDs get really cheap. :)

Last note, I still run FreeNAS-9.10-STABLE-201605240427... ;)
 

BetYourBottom

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
110
As far as RAM goes, I personally exclusively use Samsung M393B2K70CM0-YF8 (Example: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Samsung-M3...398569?hash=item2ad16fe869:g:rLgAAOSwxm5dPigB). I tried best never to mix RAM to avoid any issues.

What drives are you using again? If they are SAS, expect them to run hotter. Especially if you are burning them in anyways.

In all honesty, I have always had my Critical Temp Warning set at "48" and really never had issues (for both SAS and SATA drives). Most people would say I was running too hot, but if you check the actual Vendor specs of your drives, you may be surprised at what temps they can really handle. Example: I have a server filled with 12xHGST 4TB SAS (HUS724040ALS640). Per the Specs, Ambient Operating Temps are 5 to 60 C; so personally I feel my setting of 12C below max is safe.

My Servers run 24/7 in my "basement office" not more than 6 feet from me (in a Dell Full Server Rack). However, when I first moved everything there a few years ago I did stick a standing fan in front of the rack running on low just because I had moved everything from my hot garage (concrete floors hold crap tons of heat during summer). This is not due to me worrying about any particular Server, it was because I have 4 of them running along with a Raritan KVMoIP, 1GB Switch, 10 GB Switch, UPS, Raritan PDU, 17" Dell Slide Out Monitor/KB/Mouse, etc..

I have considered exploring the Dell R730xd, since the C2100/FS12-TY are super antiquated; but just can't bring myself to it. Heck I still have 2 Servers with 24x2.5" bays I have been waiting to fill when SSDs get really cheap. :)

Last note, I still run FreeNAS-9.10-STABLE-201605240427... ;)
Yeah, I wouldn't have mixed the RAM if I could've avoided it at the time (had less money/didn't want to invest too heavily in my first project).

They are SATA drives, WD140EMFZ. I just shucked them the other day, they are 14TB and should also be Helium. They might be running hotter because I think they are a bit larger physically and may not be letting as much air pass, and combine that with them being on the right side, connected to the SATA breakouts, where they are further from the fans. I'll keep an eye on their temps but I did raise critical to 50C last night after some reading about it.

I couldn't even consider the R730xd, I think that's still over $1k on ebay. I have been looking at the R720xd a little bit because I saw a listing for ~$400 and I could consider not needing a new backplane ~$100 discount. I kinda have been thinking about if it could lower my power usage a bit (newer CPUs being more efficient). I could reuse my RAM since it's still DDR3, and it has more fans so if it lets me tweak the curves to be less aggressive I'd bet it could be pretty quiet.

I've also thought a little bit about rolling my own since I could then upgrade pieces as I go instead of the entire thing but I don't know enough about the market to be able to find good-quality cheap parts. An fully assembled unit (even if it's missing RAM or CPU) is a bit easier to deal with.

However, I'm not sure how much of a power savings I'd get if at all with an upgrade to an R720xd or even a DIY; so I don't know if I could consider it really worth it. But damn does looking at the newer design of the R720xd get me drooling a bit.
 

lukemart

Newbie
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Messages
1
I have 6 6TB drives and i have my old 2TB (5) drives lying around but cramming all that in an old antec case is difficult and makes any maintenance when a drive failure occurs a pain. Missed out on the ebay supermicro 24 bays that went for like $300 in Jan 2015 as that would have been a good resolution. Did want to plop too much $$$ into anything now. When get into a real house next year and have more space will then invest more into an ideal setup. I could get a newer fs12 barebones variant for $120 or so off ebay but then getting the sleds and everything is $$$ (i have sleds but id sell off the older fs12 cheap to recoup and most buyers want them). and it doesnt make sense to me to drop $200+ into a c2100 with sleds at this time as some deal will pop up in the next 12 months on a supermicro with newer CPU support that would also be more power friendly.
 

TECK

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2011
Messages
390
I configured jails on a separate SSD and installed Plex Plugin. I currently run on L5640 and the hardware acceleration is not enabled. Can you please recommend the cheapest CPU I could get on eBay, supporting hardware acceleration? I found this page, but I'm not sure what model to pick for a good balance of power consumption and price.

Screen Shot 2020-06-28 at 2.41.08 PM.png
 
Last edited:

BetYourBottom

Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2016
Messages
110
If you are specifically referring to Intel QuickSync I don't believe any of the CPUs that would fit the C2100 motherboard have QuickSync.

If I'm correct on this then your only real option for hardware acceleration would be to purchase a cheap GPU that supports NVENC. I personally have looked at getting something like the Quadro P400 which is under $100 on ebay and should be able to support 2 encode streams at a time.
 

Pascal666

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
10

piperfect

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
12
I spent a few hours doing that. Nobody that says they have it on their site seems like a legitimate business. The ones on Amazon for ~$150 have a photo of it but say it is for a 2.5" drives. I sent them a message and they confirmed it was for 2.5" drives. IDK.
 
Last edited:

piperfect

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
12
Yes @Mirfster, I actually tried one sick first, A0, B0, C0, D0, E0, F0 (blue slots). B0 and E0 are disabled with memory errors. Yet, if I switch the B0 memory stick into A0 slot, it works. I'm losing my mind. :)
That looks like a CPU issue.
 

Pascal666

Neophyte
Joined
Jan 28, 2018
Messages
10
I spent a few hours doing that. Nobody that says they have it on their site seems like a legitimate business. The ones on Amazon for ~$150 have a photo of it but say it is for a 2.5" drives. I sent them a message and they confirmed it was for 2.5" drives. IDK.
There are two different sellers listed for that part on Amazon. IIRC the only two options are 12x 3.5" or 24x 2.5". The connectors are the same on both 2.5" and 3.5" SATA drives.

If you click the "Shopping" link near the top of the Google results you can see cheaper results.

Use a credit card. If you don't receive the correct part and they refuse to give you a refund, do a chargeback.
 

piperfect

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
12
There are two different sellers listed for that part on Amazon. IIRC the only two options are 12x 3.5" or 24x 2.5". The connectors are the same on both 2.5" and 3.5" SATA drives.

If you click the "Shopping" link near the top of the Google results you can see cheaper results.

Use a credit card. If you don't receive the correct part and they refuse to give you a refund, do a chargeback.
I know how Amazon and Google and credit cards work. I was asking if anyone knows a good place to buy one.
For example where, did you get yours from?
 

piperfect

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
12
I configured jails on a separate SSD and installed Plex Plugin. I currently run on L5640 and the hardware acceleration is not enabled. Can you please recommend the cheapest CPU I could get on eBay, supporting hardware acceleration? I found this page, but I'm not sure what model to pick for a good balance of power consumption and price.

View attachment 39629
I would run Plex it on a recycled desktop PC in a rack chassis with an NFS mount to the media. The westmeres can do an x264 stream or two but they are terrible at x265. I switched to Emby a while back because it works better with HAProxy.
 

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
3,214
Does anyone know where I can buy a KFF57 backplane?
C2100/FS-12TY Parts and Servers have been becoming much more rare, I would suggest maybe reaching out to some prior EBay Sellers and asking them. Worse case you could even consider buying a bare-bones unit so you have lots of spare parts. ;):
 

Comet Jo

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2014
Messages
21
Yeah back in 2017 when I had to get a different backplane for mine, ended up having to buy from an eBay seller in the UK!
 
Top