NVIDIA Hardware RAID is detected by FreeNAS, but Volume inaccessible from GUI?

FindingFilene

Dabbler
Hi everybody, yes, I'm new to FreeNAS. A little about me: I'm a former poweruser who now is too busy managing tight finances and tight schedules to do as much home configuration as I'd like. This is a major reason why I stopped using a netbook with Lubuntu as my home file server. I now have a former ATX Desktop running FreeNAS off of--ideally--a set of mirrored boot USB sticks. (Yes, I have no clue if I did this right. More on that after the bigger issue.) I want to get files off the hard drives that were part of my former windows usage for this desktop. And it's looking harder and harder to access this.

I have an old Mobo-- an ASUS M472-E--which is running some old drives. Yes, I'm running 10 year old hardware. (Feel free to buy me something new? :3 ) 2 of those 40*C running drives are in a mirrored RAID. The mirrored RAID gets detected by FreeNAS during the boot processes and stuff, but it's entirely inaccessible to the web UI and only appears as the individual disks (ada1 and ada2). How do I import this mirrored RAID array data onto another disk I have in another a ZFS pool?

Furthermore, it looks like while I have two partitions on another drive, only one is accessible for importing into FreeNAS. :(

So here's everything:

1. I installed FreeNAS onto two identical USB sticks, and now I'm not sure if they work together or what.
2. My existing hardware RAID is detected in logs, and is listed as OPTIMAL, but I can't access this RAID for importing. It doesn't show up in the import disks tool.
3. I managed to import one partition of a disk, but I don't think the other partition is showing for import. How can I validate this?

Thank you all for your help.

Kindly,

~Filene
tzey/tzem/tzeirs

Kris Moore

SVP of Engineering
Administrator
iXsystems
Welcome!!