No success with three different 10 Gb NICs

mtlynch

Cadet
I'm new to 10 Gig Ethernet, and I'm having some trouble getting it working on my TrueNAS Core 13 system.

Attempt #1: MELLANOX CONNECTX-3 EN CX311A

The first NIC I tried was actually the most successful. It was the only one that TrueNAS seemed to recognize:

Code:
# dmesg | grep -i mlx
mlx4_core0: Unable to determine PCI device chain minimum BW
mlx4_en mlx4_core0: Activating port:1
mlxen0: Ethernet address: 24:8a:07:ea:22:10
mlx4_en: mlx4_core0: Port 1: Using 4 TX rings
mlx4_en: mlx4_core0: Port 1: Using 4 RX rings
mlxen0: link state changed to DOWN
mlx4_en: mlxen0: Using 4 TX rings
mlx4_en: mlxen0: Using 4 RX rings
mlx4_en: mlxen0: Initializing port

The NIC showed up as a network interface in TrueNAS under Network > Interfaces, but Link State remained "DOWN." I tried enabling it or turning it on with ifconfig, but nothing worked.

I tried upgrading the BIOS to the latest version on my ASUS Prime motherboard, but the results were the same.

I connected the Mellanox NIC to a Windows machine and re-flashed the firmware, but when I plugged it back in to the TrueNAS system, I got the same result.

Attempt #2: Chelsio T520-LL-CR

From the 10 Gig Networking Primer thread, it seemed like the safest bet was a Chelsio NIC, so I picked one up from eBay.

Sadly, that got even worse results than the Mellanox. It didn't show up in TrueNAS's list of network interfaces at all.

I tried adding these lines to /boot/loader.conf

Code:
t4fw_cfg_load="YES"
t5fw_cfg_load="YES"
t6fw_cfg_load="YES"
if_cxgbe_load="YES"

Same results.

I tried adding them instead as Tunables: Same results.

Attempt #3: Chelsio Dual Port T520-CR

Given that Chelsio is supposed to be widely supported on TrueNAS, I thought maybe I got a dud NIC, so I ordered a different model from a different vendor. Unfortunately, I plugged it in and got the exact same result as the previous NIC.

Any suggestions for things I can try? Am I overlooking something?