NIC negotiating at 10/100

Status
Not open for further replies.

Middge

Dabbler
I should start off by saying that this month is my first month using FreeNAS. That being said, I am a systems administrator with a dozen years experience with the entire Microsoft spectrum, VMWare and some storage experience.

Now, I have a freenas system (FreeNAS-9.10-STABLE) running 12x4TB drives in z2. This system has 3x1GB ethernet interfaces (2 PCIE cards that are working perfectly, and the problematic integrated interface x99 chipset on an Asus x99-A). Everything is working fantastic with the exception of this one damned interface.

I know the issue is not the cable. For starters, I've tried multiple brand new cat6 cables right out of the package and several I crimped myself. Additionally I have tried using the cables that are working swimmingly at a full gig for my other 2 interfaces. This is the same reason why I know the issue is not my managed 3com switch.

So now I ask you, who can assist me troubleshooting this issue? Tell me what logs you need and I will provide. Any time you can give me is incredibly welcome! Thanks.

Attachments

• messages.txt
    776.4 KB · Views: 335

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
Just wondering: why did you select the ASUS x99-a board? It's more of a gamer board; it doesn't support ECC RAM; and it has integrated graphics and audio that aren't needed in a storage server.

But I'm really intrigued by your network setup. I'm not a network engineer, but it looks as though your server is querying a DHCP server (at 128.1.1.227) and the re0 and re1 interfaces are being dynamically assigned addresses (at 128.1.1.62 and 128.1.1.82 in your log). So you have two IPs in the same subnet, which can be a problem.