NextContestant - My Z440 NAS Build

Hello All, I’m new to this NAS stuff, so hoping I can learn by this process and that others can benefit to follow this same type of build using a Z440. I’m not looking for super fast transfer (at this time), but more of for stability and redundancy. An old co-work did help me out on some of the parts lists (see below), but this was about 5-6 months ago, so also welcome to corrections.

I have read most of the build posts/docs, but to be honest… it can be a bit overwhelming with the different options/sections/configs available. It's easy to read it (theory)... until you put it to practice, but hoping to make this a low cost build, utilizing when possible with hardware at hand. I do welcome any sanity checks on the below parts list (that I have now), and what I intent to get to get completed.

NAS Intent:
I would like this NAS to store all my video and photos, while also being able to store my VM’s. After doing a quick search for others using a Z440, I found this one HERE for my platform and sizing… as I already have an extra Z440 around. I would like to do 5 drive RAIDz2 using 4TB drives that would give me 10 TB of storage. This will be PLENTY of space to store my video/files and VM’s. On the office network (simple Netgear FS105 for now) will be my HP Z440 workstation (Ubuntu 18.10), Dell 5810 VM Host (Ubuntu 18.04 and would also like to add another R630 as another VM Host/server later). This is then connected (by copper) to my house wireless then out to the modem. I’m sure this is not the ideal network solution, but hoping this can ‘getr done’ for now, once I have the NAS locked in, I do plan to upgrade the office (only) to a 10G… but that’s another day/phase.

Current Hardware: (in hand)
  • 1x HP Z440 E5-1650 v3 @ 3.5GHz (w/ 2x 8G sticks, will upgrade to a total of 32G later)
  • 7x WD 4TB WD4000FYYZ hard-drives
    • Figured I could use 5x for the build and have 2x extra for swap (none tested yet)