Newbie - Setup FreeNas with 10 GB Switch

Jim Cole

Cadet
Hi to everyone. Let me introduce myself to all. I am a retired accountant and sometimes frustrated electronics/computer hobbyist. I’ve used/supported/built/repaired/trashed most all computers and networks in existence since 1983 starting with Apple III through IBM mini-computers, networks and individual PC’s of Compaq, IBM’s, Dell’s and every flavor of roll-your-own DIY utilizing IDE, SCSI and SATA. In my world I used a computer everyday for every activity related to my chosen profession, accounting. I always wanted to build myself a backup/media server (in-home), so I decided to plunge head-on into FreeNas after watching a U-tube extoling its attributes.
I initially used 4 WD Green 2TB HDD’s and 1 GB NIC’s (Intel and Marvel chips) in a new Cooler Master case with an AMD Ryzen 2200G/Asrock B450 Pro4 MB and 16 GB RAM (non-ECC) connected to my home network based on a Spectrum cable modem/router/Wi-Fi connected to my 2 Win10 Computers, 3 Laptops, MS Surface Go, 2-TV’s, 2- AVR’s, 2-IPhones and 2-Fire Tablets. I setup FreeNas using Genie Timeline Pro v 10 as my Win10 backup software and started configuring and working with it. I setup a Ubuntu 10.04 VM and experimented with Plugins and all the items in Uncle Fester’s configuration cheat sheet. His outline is what finally brought it all together finally. JoshDW19 had welcomed me aboard at the same time I was frustrated in trying to figure out why, what and how this “thing” worked. ( not enough knowledge or experience with Linux to understand)